Belfast Telegraph

Three awards for Black Sabbath

Reunited heavy metal trailblazers Black Sabbath landed a hat-trick of prizes at the Classic Rock Roll Of Honour awards.

In addition to an honorary living legend prize, their comeback release 13 was named best album and they took the event of the year title for the hitting number one with the collection.

However they missed out on the best band prize which went to the Rolling Stones, in a year which saw them top the bill at Glastonbury as well as playing headline shows in Hyde Park - 44 since they last played there.

Guitarist Wilko Johnson who announced earlier this year he has terminal cancer and is refusing treatment - took the "innovation" prize from the magazine.

Johnson, who first found fame with the band Dr Feelgood, is noted for his singular guitar style which sees him play lead and rhythm at the same time, playing a right-handed instrument despite being a left-hander.

The annual event, staged at the Roundhouse in north London, also saw Mott the Hoople take a major prize with the outstanding contribution gong for their years of hits. The band - fronted by Ian Hunter and currently on a reunion tour - are best remembered for songs such as All The Young Dudes, Roll Away The Stone and All The Way From Memphis

Black Sabbath's comeback album reunited original members Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler for the first time in 35 years, although they have released other recordings during that time with different personnel.

It took them to number one for the first time in 43 years. They had last achieved the feat with their second release Paranoid in 1970 which featured signature tracks such as War Pigs and Iron Man.

Other winners at tonight's event included The Darkness, who took the showmen award, and Manic Street Preachers frontman James Dean Bradfield was the recipient of the maestro award.

The full list of winners was

:: The Living Legend Award - Black Sabbath

:: Event Of The Year - Black Sabbath go to number one

:: Breakthrough Award - Virginmarys

:: The Musicians' Union Maestro - James Dean Bradfield

:: Tommy Vance Inspiration Award - Rory Gallagher

:: Outstanding Contribution - Mott the Hoople

:: Classic Album - Blues Breakers With Eric Clapton by John Mayall

:: VIP Award - Shep Gordon

:: Metal Guru - Zakk Wylde

:: Best New Band - The Temperance Movement

:: Album Of The Year - 13 by Black Sabbath

:: Reissue Of The Year - Rumours (35th anniversary edition) Fleetwood Mac

:: Film Of The Year - Celebration Day by Led Zeppelin

:: Band Of The Year - The Rolling Stones

:: Spirit Of Prog - Alex Lifeson

:: The Showmen - The Darkness

:: Innovator - Wilko Johnson


From Belfast Telegraph