Belfast Telegraph

Northern Ireland Music Prize 2018 shortlist announced

Joshua Burnside - winner of NI Music Prize 2017
Joshua Burnside - winner of NI Music Prize 2017

The NI Music Prize shortlist for 2018 has been announced and includes the return of three categories that formed part of the very first NI Music Awards back in 2011.

The event, which will take place on Thursday, November 15 at the Ulster Hall, is now in its sixth year.

Over 80 industry and media cast their vote for the best album of the last twelve months. They were also invited to nominate for Best Live, Best Single and the Oh Yeah Contender Award for best emerging act.

There will be a second round of voting for all but Best Single, which will go to public vote later this week. The winners of all four categories will be announced on November 15.

Further details are to be announced in the coming days, but for now, here is the shortlist:

Album of the Year

  • And So I Watch You From Afar - The Endless Shimmering
  • Ash - Islands
  • Bicep - Bicep
  • Brand New Friend - Seatbelts For Aeroplanes
  • Ciaran Lavery - Sweet Decay
  • Girls Names - Stains on Silence
  • Hannah Peel - Mary Casio: Journey to Cassiopeia
  • Malojian - Let Your Weirdness Carry You Home
  • Robocobra Quartet - Plays Hard To Get
  • Ryan Vail - Distorted Shadows
  • Snow Patrol - Wildness
  • The Wood Burning Savages - Stability

Best Single

  • Arvo Party - Liberté
  • Ash - Buzzkill
  • Brand New Friend - Girl
  • Cherym - Take It Back
  • Hot Cops - Decay
  • Joshua Burnside - A Man of High Renown
  • Kitt Philippa - Human
  • Robocobra Quartet - You’ll Wade
  • ROE - Hey Thomas
  • Rosborough - Burn Blue
  • Snow Patrol - Life on Earth
  • The Wood Burning Savages - I Don’t Know Why I Do It To Myself

Oh Yeah Contender Award

  • Cherym
  • Hand Models
  • Hunkpapa
  • Rebekah Fitch
  • Roe

Best Live Act

  • And So I Watch You From Afar
  • Brand New Friend
  • Robocobra Quartet
  • Ryan Vail
  • The Wood Burning Savages

Oh Yeah is also pleased to announce that the winners of each category will be awarded a cash prize. Best Single, Best Live Act and Oh Yeah Contender will receive £1,000 and £3,000 will go to the winner of Best Album.

The NI Music Prize is coordinated by the Oh Yeah Music Centre and is supported by Belfast City Council, Arts Council of Northern Ireland, British Council, PRS (Performing Rights Society), PPL (Phonographic Performance Limited), Help Musician’s Northern Ireland, Invest Northern Ireland and Tourism Ireland.

Early Bird tickets available now here.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph