Belfast Telegraph

Adrian Dunbar gets TV Bafta nod for Line of Duty with Thandie Newton

The awards, hosted by Sue Perkins, take place in May.

Pictured: Enniskillen actor Adrian Dunbar
Pictured: Enniskillen actor Adrian Dunbar

Actor Adrian Dunbar has been nominated for his role in the Northern Ireland filmed series Line of Duty at the 2018 TV Bafta Awards.

The Enniskillen star received the prestigious nod in the Supporting Actor category for his portrayal of Ted Hastings in the gritty BBC drama.

He faces competition from Anupam Kher for The Boy With The Topknot, Brian F O’Byrne for Little Boy Blue, and Jimmi Simpson for USS Callister – Black Mirror.

Line of Duty, which is filmed in Belfast, was among this year's TV productions with the most nominations, including Drama Series and a Leading Actress nod for Thandie Newton.

Thandie Newton (PA)

Newton has been shortlisted alongside Claire Foy for The Crown, Molly Windsor for Three Girls, and Sinead Keenan for Little Boy Blue.

Peaky Blinders, The Crown, and The End of the F***ing World are also nominated for best Drama Series.

Meanwhile, Line of Duty has been included in the Must-See Moment award - the only accolade to be voted for by the public.

Line of Duty

Newton's character Roz Huntley’s narrow escape is up against Blue Planet II's 'Mother pilot whale grieves', Doctor Who's 'The thirteenth Doctor revealed', Love Island's 'Stormzy makes a surprise appearance' and One Love Manchester's 'Ariana Grande sings One Last Time'.

Game of Thrones, which is also filmed in Northern Ireland, has been shortlisted for the epic scene which saw dragon Viserion is killed by the Night King.

Elsewhere, the late Tim Pigott-Smith is up for leading actor for his role in King Charles III.

Jack Rowan (Born To Kill), Joe Cole (Hang The DJ/Black Mirror) and Sean Bean (Broken) are also up for the award.

Two shows fronted by Ant and Dec have received nods in the Entertainment Programme category - Saturday Night Takeaway and Britain’s Got Talent have been nominated alongside Michael McIntyre’s Big Show and The Voice UK.

Ant and Dec (Matt Crossick/PA)

Meanwhile, the Entertainment Performance category looks set to be a tough fought battle, with Irish host Graham Norton nominated for The Graham Norton Show, as well as Adam Hills for The Last Leg, Michael McIntyre for Michael McIntyre’s Big Show, and Sandi Toksvig for QI.

In the comedy categories, Irish star Sharon Horgan is nominated for the Female Performance in a Comedy Programme award for her role in the Channel 4 series Catastrophe.

Anna Maxwell Martin (Motherland), Daisy May Cooper (This Country), and Sian Gibson (Peter Kay’s Car Share) have also been shortlisted.

Asim Chaudhry (People Just Do Nothing), Rob Brydon (The Trip To Spain), Samson Kayo (Famalam), and Toby Jones (Detectorists) complete the Male Performance in a Comedy Programme category.

Catastrophe, Chewing Gum, Timewasters, and This Country will battle it out in the Scripted Comedy category, while Casualty, Coronation Street, Emmerdale, and Hollyoaks are all nominated for the Soap and Continuing Drama award.

Actress Michelle Keegan and presenter Ore Oduba announced the TV Bafta nominations in London on Wednesday.

Sue Perkins will return to host the 2018 ceremoney.

The former Great British Bake Off presenter made her debut presenting the annual event last year.

The Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards will be held at the Royal Festival Hall on May 13 and will be broadcast on BBC1.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph