Belfast Telegraph

Australian Kate Miller-Heidke leads final 10 to Eurovision's grand final

Australia’s Kate Miller-Heidke
Australia’s Kate Miller-Heidke

By Alex Green

Iceland's Hatari and Australia's Kate Miller-Heidke have qualified for the Eurovision Song Contest's grand final following a high-energy semi-final in Tel Aviv.

Greece, Belarus, Serbia, Cyprus, Estonia, the Czech Republic, San Marino and Slovenia will also compete in the 26-strong event on Saturday.

A total of 17 international acts took to the stage last night but only 10 moved on to the grand final following a 50-50 vote split between the public and an international jury.

Techno-punk group Hatari attracted much attention in the lead-up to this year's contest with their darkly energetic track Hatrid Mun Sigra (Hatred Will Prevail). They converted that into votes, although the number was not made public and the night's 10 winners were announced in a random order.

Iceland has participated in Eurovision 31 times since its debut in 1986, missing two years and finishing twice second but never earning the top spot.

Kate Miller-Heidke, another favourite, performed an operatic rendition of Zero Gravity, a song about her experience of postnatal depression, while flying through the air atop a pole.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph