| 11.3°C Belfast

Cheers on the House as Hugh Laurie earns Walk of Fame star


Hugh Laurie is to receive a Hollywood Walk of Fame star

Hugh Laurie is to receive a Hollywood Walk of Fame star

Hugh Laurie is to receive a Hollywood Walk of Fame star

Hugh Laurie will join the likes of Marlon Brando, Frank Sinatra and Muhammad Ali with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

The British actor was named among a number of celebrities who will be honoured at the famous landmark in Los Angeles in 2017.

Screen stars Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, Amy Adams, Goldie Hawn, Chris Pratt, Ryan Reynolds, Mark Ruffalo and Eva Longoria will also be honoured, along with Night Of The Living Dead creator George A Romero.

Rapper Ice Cube, singer John Legend, Justin Timberlake's former boyband NSync and R&B group New Edition featuring Bobby Brown will be recognised from the world of music.

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce said the chosen celebrities had been picked from "hundreds of nominations" received by the Walk of Fame selection committee.

Vin Di Bona, the committee's chairman, described the list as "a great group of talent that will appeal to the tastes of many fans around the world".

"As a Walk of Famer myself, I know these honourees will look back at the day of their ceremony and remember it with fond memories shared with family and friends, and of course, the fans," he said.

"We look forward to their big day as the Walk of Fame Class of 2017 become part of Hollywood history on this famous walk."

Laurie, 57, is known to millions of American television viewers for his lead role in the medical drama series House from 2004 to 2012. He won two consecutive Golden Globes in 2006 and 2007 for his portrayal of tough-talking doctor Gregory House.

The actor, from Oxford, had already achieved fame in the UK following his successful comedy double act with Stephen Fry and his roles in television series including Blackadder and Jeeves And Wooster.

Other stars to be awarded in 2017 include model Tyra Banks, comedienne Sarah Silverman, actors Jason Bateman and Jeffrey Tambor - the star of award winning-television series Transparent - and actress Rita Wilson, who is married to Tom Hanks.

Film directors Brett Ratner and Lee Daniels, music executive Clarence Avant - often described as the "Godfather of black music" - American television actors Andre Braugher and Ken Corday, celebrity chef Wolfgang Puck, actress Keri Russell, media mogul Haim Saban and veteran actor George Segal will also be honoured.

Posthumous awards will be given to composer Jerry Goldsmith and singer Selena Quintanilla, who was murdered in 1995 aged 23.

American music duo Hall and Oates, radio host Elvis Duran, illusionist Criss Angel, ventriloquist Jeff Dunham and conductor Gustavo Dudamel will also receive stars.

Some 2,583 stars have been presented on the Hollywood Walk of Fame since 1960, with a donation of 30,000 dollars (£22,500) required to receive the award. The money is used to install the star and for the maintenance of the Walk of Fame.

The dates of next year's star ceremonies are still to be announced.