Belfast Telegraph

Colm Meaney named best actor for Martin McGuinness role in The Journey

Colm Meaney has been named Best Actor Award for his portrayal of Martin McGuinness in The Journey.

Meaney was awarded the accolade at the annual IFTA Film and Drama Awards in Dublin's Mansion House.

Some of Ireland's most well-known actors from the big and small screens were out in force for the bash.

The film is to be released on May 5.

Starring Meaney as Martin McGuinness, Timothy Spall as Ian Paisley and written by Northern Ireland author Colin Bateman it tells the story of the 'journey' the two former enemies made ahead of the St Andrews Agreement.

Directed by Nick Hamm the cast also includes Toby Stephens, Freddie Highmore, and the late John Hurt.

It has featured at the Toronto and Venice film festivals earning critical acclaim.

Colm Meaney has been nominated for an IFTA award for his performance in the film. Speaking on ITV's this morning, he said the script was a page-turner with humour and warmth which meant he had to take on the role of the late IRA commander.

The full list of winners at this year's awards were:

Best Supporting Actress in Film - Charleigh Bailey - A Date For Mad Mary

Best Supporting Actor in Film - Ned Dennehy - An Klondike

Best Script - James Phelan - Wrecking The Rising

Best Animation - Second To None - Vincent Gallagher

Best Short Film - Heartbreak - Dave Tynan

Best Make Up and Hair – Dee Corcoran and Tom McInerney - Vikings

Best Supporting Actress in Drama - Charlie Murphy - Happy Valley

George Morrison Award for Best Feature Documentary - Mattress Men

Costume Design - Consolata Boyle - Florence Foster Jenkins

Best Editing - Nick Emerson - I Am Not A Serial Killer

Original Score - Bryan Byrne - Secret Scripture

Best Director - Dathai Keane - An Klondike

Best Lead Actress in Drama - Amy Huberman - Striking Out

Best Lead Actor in Drama - Cillian Murphy - Peaky Blinders

Rising Star - Patrick Gibson

Best Script in Film - Peter Foott - Young Offenders

Best Production Design - Derek Wallace - Secret Scripture

Best Supporting Actor in Film - Jason O'Mara - Seige of Jadotville

Best Lead Actor in Film Colm Meaney - The Journey

Best Lead Actress in Film – Ruth Negga - Loving

Best Film - A Date For Mad Mary

Best Drama - Vikings

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph