Belfast Telegraph

Emmerdale continues success with win at Inside Soap Awards

Shayne Ward spoke of his delight after taking home the Best Newcomer gong at the Inside Soap Awards on Monday night (03Oct16), revealing it's the "cherry on top" of a great year.

Emmerdale took home yet another gong at the Inside Soap Awards on Monday night (03Oct16), winning the prestigious Best Soap accolade.

The ITV soap has enjoyed huge success this year (16) thanks to a spate of exciting story lines, and its popularity was recognised as the programme was crowned Best Soap at the ceremony in London on Monday.

It was the second year running Emmerdale has taken home the gong, beating rivals including EastEnders and Coronation Street in the process.

The soap also won awards for Best Partnership for Ryan Hawley & Danny Miller, Best Shock Twist for Val dying in the hall of mirrors and Best Young Actor for Amelia Flanagan.

After their victory, Danny said of the win: "It’s amazing to have won. It’s overwhelming to have been voted amongst soap icons, especially with the strong stories on all the soaps this year. I think it’s more a credit to Ryan, if I’m honest, because he’s come in with such a strong character."

Despite bagging the biggest gong, Emmerdale was beaten by EastEnders in its total awards haul, with the BBC soap taking home an impressive five trophies.

Among the victories were Best Actor and Best Actress prizes for Steve McFadden and Lacey Turner respectively, while Barbara Windsor took home the Best Exit award for the storyline which saw the death of her character Peggy.

Speaking of her victory, Barbara said: "Peggy’s exit was wonderful - I really couldn’t have asked for more. The writers spoilt me - really, they did."

Tameka Empson, who plays Kim Fox-Hubbard in the soap, was crowned Funniest Female, while Jacqueline Jossa received the Sexiest Female award - rounding out EastEnders' five awards.

Coronation Street also enjoyed a successful evening, with four awards in the bag, including Best Newcomer for former X Factor winner Shayne Ward.

The 31-year-old singer-turned-actor has received critical acclaim and fan praise for his portrayal of Aidan Connor, and said he was thrilled to have been recognised for his work.

"I’ve been blessed to have such great storylines in the first year that I’ve been here," he said. "This just rounds it off. It’s been a great year and this is the cherry on top!"

The full list of winners at the 2016 Inside Soap Awards is as follows:

Best Actor - Steve McFadden (Phil Mitchell, EastEnders)

Best Actress - Lacey Turner (Stacey Fowler, EastEnders)

Best Bad Girl - Persephone Swales-Dawson (Nico Bradley, Hollyoaks)

Best Bad Boy - Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan, Coronation Street)

Funniest Female - Tameka Empson (Kim Fox-Hubbard, EastEnders)

Funniest Male - Joe Duttine (Tim Metcalfe, Coronation Street)

Best Newcomer - Shayne Ward (Aidan Connor, Coronation Street)

Best Young Actor - Amelia Flanagan (April Windsor, Emmerdale)

Sexiest Male - Charlie Clapham (Freddie Roscoe, Hollyoaks)

Sexiest Female - Jacqueline Jossa (Lauren Branning, EastEnders)

Best Partnership - Ryan Hawley & Danny Miller (Robert Sugden & Aaron Dingle, Emmerdale)

Best Show-Stopper - The live episode (Coronation Street)

Best Shock Twist - Val dies in the hall of mirrors (Emmerdale)

Best Exit - Barbara Windsor (Peggy Mitchell, EastEnders)

Best Drama Star - Derek Thompson (Charlie Fairhead, Casualty)

Best Drama Storyline - Arthur’s death (Holby City)

Best Daytime Star - Alan Fletcher (Karl Kennedy, Neighbours)

Best Daytime Soap - Neighbours 

Best Soap - Emmerdale 

© Cover Media

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph