Belfast Telegraph

Eurovision hopefuls include former The Voice rivals

The six acts in the running to represent the United Kingdom at Eurovision have been announced - including two former The Voice UK rivals.

The performers will now take to the stage for Eurovision: You Decide, where the shortlist of six will be narrowed down to one act who will be sent to Sweden for Eurovision 2016.

The acts will perform on BBC Four on Friday in a bid to impress both the professional panel and viewers at home.

Having gone head-to-head in 2015, The Voice UK rejects Joe Woolford and Jake Shakeshaft have teamed up to become Eurovision hopefuls Joe and Jake.

Woolford was chosen on the TV talent show to be part of's team but lost out during the battle rounds. The 21-year-old, from Ruthin in Wales, has since gone on to support The Vamps on their 2015 tour.

Shakeshaft, 20, from Stoke-on-Trent, was on Rita Ora's team but was eliminated in the knockout rounds.

Bianca Claxton can list The X Factor's Leona Lewis among the co-writers for her entry, titled Shine A Light.

The 25-year-old, from Nottingham, was a member of girl group Parade, and has supported Shakira and The Black Eyed Peas on tour.

Country pop duo Darline - consisting of Abby Inez, 20, from Worcester, and Cara Beth Beard, 18, from Hertfordshire - will perform a song called Until Tomorrow.

The two have previously supported The Shires on their UK tour.

Liverpudlian Karl William Lund will perform his self-penned song Miracle.

The 29-year-old began writing the song while working in Greece as part of a Beatles tribute act.

Ex-buskers Dulcima Showan, 23, and Tomas Twyman, 27, will perform Twyman's song When You Go.

The two, who perform under the name Dulcima and Tom, met when they were both busking on the streets of Canterbury.

Matthew James was part of 90s boy band Bad Boys Inc, who had a hit single with More To This World.

The 44-year-old now performs with his band Madhen. His song is titled A Better Man.

The UK selection show will be broadcast live on BBC Four at 7.30pm and is hosted by The Great British Bake Off presenter Mel Giedroyc.

The six competing acts will perform before voting lines open for the public to choose their Eurovision entry.

Last year's Eurovision winner Mans Zelmerlow, who triumphed for Sweden, will open the show with a performance of his winning song Heroes.

The show will also feature a retrospective of some of Sir Terry Wogan's best Eurovision moments.

The broadcaster, who died on January 31, was the BBC's Eurovision commentator from 1971 to 2008, when he passed the baton to Graham Norton.

He was famed for his acerbic and witty take on the song contest.


From Belfast Telegraph