Belfast Telegraph

Kym Marsh's Coronation Street stillbirth storyline earns British Soap Awards nominations

She has received a nomination for Best Actress as well as Best Female Dramatic Performance, while her goodbye to baby Ruairi is up for Scene of the Year.

Kym Marsh's powerful acting in Coronation Street stillbirth storyline has been recognised with several British Soap Award nominations.

The 40-year-old actress plays Michelle Connor in the ITV soap, and expressed her uncertainty about taking on the plot considering she also suffered a stillbirth in real life back in 2009.

However, she decided to agree to the storyline in the hopes that it might help other women going through the same thing, and was widely praised for her incredible performance.

Now she has received a nomination at the 2017 British Soap Awards, which take place in London on 3 June (17), for Best Actress as well as Best Female Dramatic Performance, while her goodbye to baby Ruairi is up for Scene of the Year.

Simon Gregson, who stars as Michelle's on-screen husband Steve, has also earned a nomination for Best Male Dramatic Performance.

Upon the announcement of the shortlist for the ceremony, Kym took to Twitter to thank fans for their support, writing: "Thank you so much to everyone who has voted for us @itvcorrie so far. Truly truly thrilled xx"

Coronation Street is also up for Best British Soap, but faces some tough competition from EastEnders, Emmerdale, Hollyoaks and Doctors.

Another of Corrie’s hard-hitting story lines, the grooming of teenager Bethany Platt, has also earned some nominations. Lucy Fallon, who plays Bethany in the soap, is up for Best Actress alongside Kym, EastEnders star Lacey Turner, Hollyoaks beauty Anna Passey and Emmerdale's Charlotte Bellamy, while her grooming is also up for Best Storyline.

On the male front, Kym's ex Jamie Lomas is up for Best Actor for his portrayal of Warren Fox in Hollyoaks, while Coronation Street's Jack P. Shepherd, Emmerdale's Danny Miller and John Middleton and Hollyoaks' Gregory Finnegan also earned nominations.

Viewers are now being asked to vote for their favourites in each category, with the winners announced when The British Soap Awards take place next month.

The 2017 British Soap Awards shortlist is as follows:

Best British Soap -

Coronation Street





Best Actor -

Jack P Shepherd (David Platt, Coronation Street)

Danny Miller (Aaron Dingle, Emmerdale)

John Middleton (Ashley Thomas, Emmerdale)

Jamie Lomas (Warren Fox, Hollyoaks)

Gregory Finnegan (James Nightingale, Hollyoaks)

Best Actress -

Kym Marsh (Michelle Connor, Coronation Street)

Lucy Fallon (Bethany Platt, Coronation Street)

Lacey Turner (Stacey Fowler, EastEnders)

Charlotte Bellamy (Laurel Thomas, Emmerdale)

Anna Passey (Sienna Blake, Hollyoaks)

Villain of the Year -

Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan, Coronation Street)

Lucy-Jo Hudson (Rhiannon Davis, Doctors)

Jake Wood (Max Branning, EastEnders)

Gillian Kearney (Emma Barton, Emmerdale)

Persephone Swales-Dawson (Nico Blake, Hollyoaks)

Best Comedy Performance -

Dolly-Rose Campbell (Gemma Winter, Coronation Street)

Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Dr Zara Carmichael, Doctors)

Tameka Empson (Kim Fox-Hubbard, EastEnders)

Dominic Brunt (Paddy Kirk, Emmerdale)

Nicole Barber Lane (Myra McQueen, Hollyoaks)       

Best Newcomer -

Rob Mallard (Dan Osbourne, Coronation Street)

Ritu Aryu (Dr Megan Sharma, Doctors)

Zack Morris (Keegan Baker, EastEnders)          

Sally Dexter (Faith Dingle, Emmerdale)

Duncan James (Ryan Knight, Hollyoaks)

Best Storyline -

Coronation Street: The Grooming of Bethany     

Doctors: Rhiannon's Second Chance

EastEnders: Lee's Mental Health

Emmerdale: Ashley's Dementia

Hollyoaks: Teenage Cancer

Best Single Episode -

Coronation Street: Kylie's Death

Doctors: A Christmas Carol

EastEnders: Lee On The Edge

Emmerdale: Ashley's Point Of View

Hollyoaks: What Is Consent?

Best Male Dramatic Performance -

Simon Gregson (Steve McDonald, Coronation Street)

Ian Midlane (Dr Al Haskey, Doctors)

Steve McFadden (Phil Mitchell, EastEnders)

John Middleton (Ashley Thomas, Emmerdale)

Kieron Richardson (Ste Hay, Hollyoaks)

Best Female Dramatic Performance -         

Kym Marsh (Michelle Connor, Coronation Street)

Dido Miles (Dr Emma Reid, Doctors)

Diane Parish (Denise Fox, EastEnders)

Charlotte Bellamy (Laurel Thomas, Emmderdale)

Nadine Mulkerrin (Cleo McQueen, Hollyoaks)         

Best On-screen Partnership -

Malcolm Hebden & Patti Clare (Norris Cole & Mary Taylor, Coronation Street)

Matthew Chambers & Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Dr Daniel Granger & Dr Zara Carmichael, Doctors)

James Bye & Lacey Turner (Martin & Stacey Fowler, EastEnders)

John Middleton & Charlotte Bellamy (Ashley & Laurel Thomas, Emmerdale)

Richard Linnell & Kassius Nelson (Alfie Nightingale & Jade Albright, Hollyoaks)                                                                           

Best Young Actor -

Elle Mulvaney (Amy Barlow, Coronation Street) 

Bleu Landau (Dennis Rickman, EastEnders)

Isobel Steele (Liv Flaherty, Emmerdale)

Ela May Demircan (Leah Barnes, Hollyoaks)             

Scene of the Year -

Coronation Street: Michelle's Goodbye To Ruairi           

Doctors: Haunted By His Voices

EastEnders: Ronnie & Ronnie's Exit

Emmerdale: The Hotten Bypass Pile Up

Hollyoaks: Jade Says Goodbye To Alfie   

© Cover Media

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph