Belfast Telegraph

Man Booker Prize: Irish authors on 2017 longlist

Two Irish authors, Sebastian Barry and Mike McCormack, have made the 2017 Man Booker Prize longlist.

The writers are among 13 novelists who will be picked as the winner of the prestigious accolade.

Dublin author Barry is nominated for his book Days Without End, which is set during 1850s America and tells the story of two Irish soldiers and lovers who go to fight in the US wars.

In January, Barry was named the first novelist to win the Costa Book of the Year prize twice.

Author Sebastian Barry

Days Without End was also honoured with the Walter Scott Prize.

Co Mayo author McCormack is nominated for his book Solar Bones - which is written in a single 223-page sentence and takes place on All Souls' Day in Louisburgh, Co Mayo.

McCormack has previously won Book and Novel of the Year at the Irish Book Awards for Solar Bones and the Goldsmiths Prize.

Authors from the UK, Pakistan, the US, and India are also included on this year's Man Booker Prize longlist.

2017 Man Booker Prize longlist:

  • Paul Auster (US) 4 3 2 1
  • Sebastian Barry (Ireland) Days Without End
  • Emily Fridlund (US) History of Wolves
  • Mohsin Hamid (Pakistan) Exit West
  • Mike McCormack (Ireland) Solar Bones
  • Jon McGregor (UK) Reservoir 13
  • Fiona Mozley (UK) Elmet
  • Arundhati Roy (India) The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
  • George Saunders (US) Lincoln in the Bardo
  • Kamila Shamsie (UK-Pakistan) Home Fire
  • Ali Smith (UK) Autumn
  • Zadie Smith (UK) Swing Time
  • Colson Whitehead (US) The Underground Railroad

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph