Belfast Telegraph

National Treasure dominates Royal Television Society nominations

EastEnders, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks will compete against each other for the Soap and Continuing Drama prize.

British TV show National Treasure emerged the frontrunner for the 2017 Royal Television Society (RTS) Programme Awards after receiving four nominations on Tuesday (07Mar17).

The drama, about a comedian who is accused of historical sex offences, landed nominations for best mini-series, best actor for Robbie Coltrane, best actress for Julie Walters and best writer for Jack Thorne.

To win the prize on 21 March (17), National Treasure must beat off competition from London Spy and Thirteen, while Robbie must be victorious over Adeel Akhtar for Murdered By My Father and James Nesbitt for The Secret and Julie must go up against Sophie Okonedo for Undercover and Jodie Comer for Thirteen.

Happy Valley, Line of Duty and The Durrells are nominated for best drama series, while A Midsummer Night's Dream, Murdered By My Father and Reg make up the shortlist for Single Drama, and soap operas EastEnders, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks will compete against each other for the Soap and Continuing Drama prize.

Comedy series Catastrophe and its stars Sharon Horgan and Rob Delaney received mentions for Scripted Comedy and Comedy Performance respectively, just like People Just Do Nothing and its star Asim Chaudhry. Steve Coogan also received a nod for Comedy Performance for Alan Partridge’s Scissored Isle.

TV presenters Ant and Dec scored two mentions, one for best entertainment for Saturday Night Takeaway and one for entertainment performance for reality show I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here!

However, they have tough competition on their hands in the best entertainment category with Strictly Come Dancing and Taskmaster, and with the cast of topical talk show The Last Leg and Romesh Ranganathan for Asian Provocateur: Mum’s American Dream in the entertainment performance category.

Former winner of The Great British Bake Off, Nadiya Hussain, is up for the breakthrough prize for her show The Chronicles of Nadiya and is up against Phoebe Waller-Bridge for Fleabag and Phillip Wood for Chasing Dad: A Lifelong Addiction.

The winners will be announced at London's Grosvenor House Hotel on 21 March (17). Sandi Toksvig has replaced controversial presenter Piers Morgan after he stepped down following a petition calling for his withdrawal from the role.

© Cover Media

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph