Belfast Telegraph

No award nomination for Grimshaw

BBC big guns Nick Grimshaw and Chris Evans have missed out on nominations for the best breakfast show prize at the UK radio industry's biggest awards ceremony.

Radio 1's Grimmy has been overlooked for the title for a second year at the Radio Academy Awards, with past winner Chris from Radio 2 similarly failing to make the shortlist which features Radio 5 live's Nicky Campbell and Rachel Burden lining up against presenters of London stations.

Blur star Alex James is up for a pair of prizes at the event for his Magical Mystery Show programme on Classic FM, with other nominated musicians-turned-presenters including Jamie Cullum, Elbow's Guy Garvey and rapper Scroobius Pip.

Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg also finds himself in the nominations with his weekly LBC 97.3 phone-in Call Clegg up for best speech programme, against a field of Absolute Radio's Frank Skinner Show and Radio 4's The Reunion, Short Cuts and The Digital Human.

Chris Evans does find himself in the running for another highly-prized award, as he battles for the music radio personality title against station colleague Graham Norton, as well as Absolute Radio's Christian O'Connell, BBC Radio 6 Music's Mark Radcliffe and Stuart Maconie and Gem 106's Sam & Amy.

Guy Garvey - whose band recently achieved their first number one album with The Take Off And Landing Of Everything - is up for the music radio broadcaster prize against fellow 6 Music host Mary Anne Hobbs, XFM's Scroobius Pip, Radio 3's Tom Service and Radio 1's Zane Lowe.

The national breakfast show of the year title - won last year by Radio 4's Today - will be fought between Radio 5 live, Kiss Breakfast With Rickie, Melvin And Charlie, LBC's Nick Ferrari, BBC London's Penny Smith and Paul Ross and Capital's double act Dave Berry and Lisa Snowdon.

Nick Ferrari has further cause for celebration as he is also up for s peech radio personality of the year - against Radio 5 live's Danny Baker, talkSport's Johnny Vaughan, Cambridge student Phin Adams on CAMFM and Metro Radio/TFM's Alan Robson - and he also officiates in the Call Clegg show.

T he awards - formerly known as the Sony Radio Academy Awards until the sponsor pulled out last year after a long association - take place at London's Grosvenor House Hotel on May 12, hosted by Chris.

Blur star turned cheesemaker Alex competes for the best music programme against Radio 2 jazz host Jamie Cullum, Classic FM's John Suchet, Radio 2's The People's Songs - hosted by Stuart Maconie - and Danielle Perry for her XFM evening show.

Alex is also in the running for best entertainment programme against Radio 1's Greg James, Capital North East's Rob Howard, BBC Radio Bristol's The 12 O'Clock Show and Radio 2's Dermot O'Leary Show.

The much prized award for national station of the year - landed by BBC Radio 5 live in 2013 - will be fought between Radio 2, Radio 4 and talkSport.

Three Radio 4 presenters - Jane Garvey, Justin Webb and Lord Bragg - are in the running for speech radio broadcaster, along with with BBC Radio Sheffield's Rony Robinson and Victoria Derbyshire from Radio 5 live.

David Rodigan, who was axed by Kiss after many years, has found himself nominated for best specialist music programme after finding a new home at Radio 1Xtra. He is up against station colleague Mistajam, Radio 1's Zane Lowe, XFM's Scroobius Pip for his Beatdown series and Radio 2's folk show hosted by Mark Radcliffe, who took over when Mike Harding was sacked after 15 years.

Paul Robinson, The Radio Academy's CEO, said: "These awards continue to set the gold standard for the UK radio industry and uniquely embrace everyone, from big established personalities and stations to fresh new talent and local radio stations."


From Belfast Telegraph