Belfast Telegraph

Search for Northern Ireland's best pub quiz team

The search for the brainiest pub quiz team in Northern Ireland kick off next month across 14 towns and cities  including Belfast, Downpatrick, Armagh, Enniskillen, Omagh, Derry~Londonderry, Carrickfergus, Newry, Ballymena, Lurgan, Portstewart and Hillsborough - with the winning team from each heat qualifying for the grand final at The Errigle Inn in Belfast.

Previous winners of the McCoy’s NI Pub Quiz include two-time champions The Hoffs from Belfast who went on to appear on BBC TV quiz show Eggheads, We’re Only Here For The Crisps from Bangor and The Sandbaggers from Portstewart.

Hopefuls wanting to test their knowledge against the best in this year’s competition should simply turn up to their nearest regional heat. Teams must have no more than six members and must be available to participate in the final in Belfast on June 5.  Demand at each heat is expected to be high so participants are advised to arrive early on the night to avoid disappointment.


Pub Quiz Heats

The McCoy’s NI Pub Quiz 2014 heats are taking place at the following venues:


Hillsborough     -     The Plough, May 1

Downpatrick      -     Denvir’s, May 7

Ballymena          -     The Front Page Bar, May 7

Portstewart        -     The Anchor, May 7

Derry~Londonderry - Grand Central Bar, May 13

Omagh                 -     The Weigh Inn, May 15

Enniskillen         -     The Devenish, May 15

Lurgan                  -     The Beehive Bar, May 15

Belfast                  -     The Errigle Bar, May 19

-          The Four Winds Bar May 22

Newry                  -      The Bank, May 21

Cookstown         -     TIME Bar + Venue, May 22

Carrickfergus     -      The Windrose, May 27

Armagh                -      Mickey Kelly’s, May 29


The grand final will be held on Thursday June 5 at The Errigle Inn in Belfast.


Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph