| 16.1°C Belfast

Ex-Sinn Fein minister O Muilleoir joins board of Arts Council


Mairtin O Muilleoir

Mairtin O Muilleoir

Mairtin O Muilleoir

A former Finance Minister has been appointed to the board of the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

Mairtin O Muilleoir is one of six new members announced by acting Communities Minister Caral Ni Chuilin following an open competition.

The other new members are Julie Andrews, Lynne Best, Liam Hannaway, Sean Kelly and Una McRory.

The appointments are with effect to June 30, 2024.

Ms Ni Chuilin said: "I look forward to these individuals bringing their particular skills and experiences to their new positions at this particularly difficult time for the arts sector and help leading on its recovery."

She extended the first terms of appointment of Dr Katy Radford (vice-chair) and Cian Smyth (board member) with effect to December 31, 2020. They have both served on the board since December 2015.

Ms Ni Chuilin also announced a £4m lifeline for the arts as part of the Executive's monitoring round, providing a much-needed boost for the sector.

Belfast Telegraph