Belfast Telegraph

Belfast Telegraph Business Awards night will showcase cream of Northern Ireland talent

We’re proud to unveil a new sponsor as the Belfast Telegraph Business Awards enter their fifteenth year, says Margaret Canning

From left: Richard McClean, managing director of the Belfast Telegraph; Margaret Canning, business editor; Richard Donnan, Ulster Bank head of Northern Ireland
From left: Richard McClean, managing director of the Belfast Telegraph; Margaret Canning, business editor; Richard Donnan, Ulster Bank head of Northern Ireland
Martin Agnew from Henderson Group, winner of Overall Business of the Year, 2016
Conleth and Naoimh McConville with their father Brian McConville, named Businessperson of the Year at last year’s awards
Above, Darren and Karen Gardiner of Ground Espresso, last year’s Excellence in Corporate Responsibility winners
Judith Totten and Colin Dundas of Upstream, last year’s Small/Medium Business of the year

Ulster Bank is to partner with the Belfast Telegraph for this year's Business Awards, now in their 15th year. The Belfast Telegraph Business Awards, in partnership with Ulster Bank, are now open for entry, with three new categories announced for this year's awards, which will take place during a glittering ceremony at the Crowne Plaza, Belfast on Thursday, May 4.

Companies across Northern Ireland can enter across 11 categories, including three new additions - IT Company or Team of the Year, Emerging Business/Start-Up of the Year and SME Healthcare Business of the Year.

>>Download your entry form here<<

Richard Donnan, Ulster Bank Head of Northern Ireland, said: "At Ulster Bank, we're optimistic about the future of business in Northern Ireland, we're committed to supporting that, and we have money to lend.

"We think there's no better way of communicating this to the marketplace than by supporting the Belfast Telegraph Business Awards.

"We're doing deals in a wide and diverse range of sectors such as food and drink, retail, hotels, healthcare and IT, so we know there are many businesses with good things to shout about.

"We look forward to working closely with the Belfast Telegraph, to recognise and celebrate Northern Ireland's outstanding companies and businesspeople."

Richard McClean, managing director of the Belfast Telegraph, said: "We're thrilled that Ulster Bank is partnering with us and are overall sponsor for the Business Awards in its 15th year.

"These awards, which have gone from strength to strength, are a great opportunity for local companies of all sizes and from all sectors to shine a light on their successes and with three brand new categories the scope for entry will be even wider.

"We feature lots of local businesses in our daily business pages, but we know there are many more achieving great things so we're urging them to come forward and enter the Belfast Telegraph Ulster Bank Business Awards to tell us what they are achieving both at home and further afield.

"Our team of highly regarded judges is looking forward to hearing all about it."

Last year's overall winner of the awards was Mallusk-based, family owned company the Henderson Group, which also won the Excellence in Innovation award, while other winners included Ground Espresso Bars, Galgorm Resort and Spa, AJ Power and Upstream.

Our esteemed judging panel:

The judging panel for this year will again be chaired by economist Professor John Simpson, who will be joined by:

  • Richard Donnan, head of Northern Ireland, Ulster Bank
  •  Ann McGregor, chief executive, NI Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Dr Joanne Stuart, director of development, Catalyst-Inc
  • Professor Mark Durkin, executive dean, Business School at Ulster University
  • Siobhan Lyons, head of business development, Belfast Metropolitan College
  • Jackie Henry, senior partner, Deloitte
  • Paul Terrington, NI regional chairman, PwC
  • Colin Stutt, Social Enterprise specialist

Full list of categories

The list of categories for 2017 is:

1. Excellence in Marketing

2. Excellence in Exporting

3. Excellence in the Development of Management and Leadership

4. Excellence in Innovation

5. Best Use of Digital and/or Social Media

6. Young Businessperson of the Year

7. IT Company or Team of the year

8. Emerging Business/Start-Up of the Year

9. SME Healthcare Business of the Year

10. Best Small/Medium Business

11. Excellence in Corporate Social Responsibility

Two special judges’ awards — the Lifetime Achievement Award and Overall Business of the Year sponsored by Ulster Bank — will also be presented.

Go online for full details

Full details on categories and criteria and how to enter are available here.

The closing date for entries is Friday, March 17 at noon.

The gala awards dinner takes place on May 4 at the Crowne Plaza, Shaw’s Bridge, Belfast.

A table of 10 costs £1,300 plus Vat while individual places are available at £140 plus Vat.

For further information or to book a table contact Andrea Kennedy at JComms on or call 028 9076 0066.

Related Content