| 24.6°C Belfast

2017 Belfast Telegraph Property Awards: Judging panel unveiled


The judging panel is chaired by Professor Alastair Adair

The judging panel is chaired by Professor Alastair Adair

The judging panel is chaired by Professor Alastair Adair

As the property world prepares to celebrate at this year’s prestigious Belfast Telegraph Property Awards, our panel of independent judges face the enviable task of selecting this year’s industry stars from a record number of entries.

The awards offer a chance for agencies, developers, architects, designers and contractors to showcase their outstanding work at a glittering ceremony in November.

Our judging panel is made up of a number of distinguished figures chosen for their expertise right across the property sector in Northern Ireland.

Chaired by Professor Alastair Adair, PVC (Development) & Provost, Ulster University, we are also delighted to have Derek Wilson, Chair of UK Finance NI Mortgage Committee and First Trust Bank, Daryl McIntosh of the National Association of Estate Agents, Padraig Venney, National House Building Council, Arleen Elliott, NI Law Society, Nicola McCrudden, Chartered Institute of Housing, Paul Crowe, President, Royal Society of Ulster Architects and Susan Mason, Acting Regional Director, RICS.

Professor Alastair Adair is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Ulster University providing leadership in strategy and academic governance.

He has direct line management and leadership responsibility for Executive Deans and oversees business performance and sustainability of the University's faculties.

He also has direct line management responsibility for the University’s Provosts, providing leadership in civic and societal engagement.

Previously Professor Adair served as Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Provost of the Belfast and Jordanstown campuses, Dean of the Faculty of Art, Design and the Built Environment and Head of the School of the Built Environment at Ulster. He is also Professor of Property Investment and a researcher, with research interests comprising the financing of infrastructure and regeneration and property market performance.

He was appointed CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List 2014 for services to Higher Education in Northern Ireland and in 2016 as a Deputy Lieutenant for the County Borough of Belfast.

Commenting on his role as chair of our judging panel he said: “The Belfast Telegraph Property Awards provides a welcome opportunity to demonstrate the continuing vitality, professionalism and expertise that characterises the Northern Ireland property market."

I am delighted that the judging panel will be looking forward to receiving high quality entries across each of the categories in terms of their creativity, innovation, design excellence, commitment to professional service and support for both clients and the public in the future development of the market. Professor Alastair Adair

Also on the panel, Daryl McIntosh of the National Association of Estate Agents, has extensive experience in property having worked in the sector for over 20 years.

At NAEA and ARLA Propertymark, Daryl has created strong relationships with policy officers at the Executive and local Government helping to ensure forthcoming legislation is shaped for the benefit of the property sector.

Nicola McCrudden is a Chartered Institute of Housing Director with responsibility for Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

Nicola has worked in housing for most of her professional career having previously held the positions of Policy and Communications Manager with NI advice charity Housing Rights and Information Manager with Shelter in England.

Nicola has a thorough understanding of cross-tenure housing issues. She has been involved in a number high profile of government working groups advising on major policy developments on homelessness, repossession, financial capability and private rented sector reform.

Derek Wilson, Head of Mortgage Strategy and Distribution with First Trust Bank has spent over 36 years working in Financial Services. He is also Chairman of UK Finance at the bank and sits on the Northern Ireland Mortgage Committee and is a Board member of the Northern Ireland Housing Executive.

Padraig Venney is Regional Director for Northern Ireland of the National House Building Council.

Padraig, who was formerly a London-based Inspection Manager for NHBC, the UK's leading warranty and insurance provider for new homes, began his career with NHBC in 2004 in Northern Ireland as a Building Inspector in his home town of Downpatrick, Co Down.

Holywood native Arleen Elliott is a former president of the Law Society of Northern Ireland.

Arleen is also a partner at the Elliott-Trainor Partnership in Newry, where she specialises in conveyancing, family and litigation work.

She has also served as Chair of the Family Law Committee, Client Complaints Committee, Contentious Committee and Access to Justice Committee.

TODD Architects Managing Director Paul Crowe took up the post of President of the Royal Society of Ulster Architects (RSUA) last year, having served as Hon Secretary and as Convenor of the Awards Committee previously.

His goal in this role is to make RSUA more ‘relevant’ and engaging within the wider public arena and to grow its membership, particularly amongst young architects.

TODD Architects is a multi-award-winning practice with studios in Belfast, London and Dublin responsible for such landmark projects as Titanic Belfast, Belfast Waterfront Conference and Exhibition Centre and the new Omagh Hospital and Primary Care Complex.

Susan Mason, Acting Regional Director for RICS has had a life-long interest in the built environment which has seen her work for both management development companies and local planning services in England.

In her current role as Acting Director for RICS in Northern Ireland she leads the local team to ensure a surveying voice is heard in all issues affecting land, property, construction and the environment.

Top Videos