Belfast Telegraph

Belfast Telegraph Property Awards 2016 - pictures and full list of winners

By Stephanie Bell

The biggest annual celebration of the property industry in Northern Ireland saw over 500 people gather yesterday for the 2016 Belfast Telegraph Property Awards in association with

The Ramada Hotel at Shaw's Bridge played host to the glittering event which recognised the past year's big successes and stars of the industry.

Key companies from every aspect of the profession came together for an afternoon of fine dining and celebration as awards were presented in a number of categories.

Hosted by Pamela Ballantine, guests relaxed over lunch before the room reverberated with laughter as Blame Game comedian Colin Murphy took to the stage.

The presentation of awards followed, with the high quality of entries posing a huge challenge for our esteemed judging panel chaired by Professor Alastair Adair, Ulster University's deputy vice chancellor and Professor of Property Investment.

Also tasked with choosing our winners, finalists and highly commended were Arlene Elliott of the NI Law Society; First Trust Bank's Derek Wilson, who is also the chair of the Council of Mortgage Lenders; Nicola McCrudden of the Chartered Institute of Housing; Daryl McIntosh of the National Association of Estate Agents; David Little of the National House Building Council; Ben Collins, regional director for the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, and Joan McCoy of White Ink Architects, who is also vice president of the Royal Society of Ulster Architects.

Professor Adair commented: "The judges were very gratified to receive such a high quality of nominations and we noticed a marked uplift from the previous year in relation to design - the young architects and agents - quality of residential and commercial developments and professional services in all of the categories.

"Given the high quality, it was difficult for the judges to separate the winners from those who were highly commended.

"What also was very clear in these entries was the significant impact that the digital information and knowledge economy is now having on the property sector and enhancing services to clients." The following were among the awards presented:

Commercial Estate Agency of the Year award, sponsored by A & L Goodbody, was won by CBRE, with Lambert Smith Hampton and Lisney both highly commended.

The award for Commercial Development of the Year, sponsored by Carson McDowell, was presented to Lacuna Developments for its exciting restoration of the landmark listed building, the former Belfast Metropolitan College at College Square East, Belfast, now called John Bell House.

The company singled out for the Property Deal of the Year Award, sponsored by Wilson Nesbitt, was Lambert Smith Hampton, with The Lotus Group taking a highly commended.

The 2016 winners are:

Commercial Fit-Out of the Year sponsored by Willis Insurance

Ald Fit Out



Dress This House

Graham Interior Fit Out

Martin & Hamilton

The Martin Group (Winner)


Best Interior Design of the Year sponsored by

Bowman Design Company

Dress This House

J'Adore Décor (Winner)


Commercial Development of the Year sponsored by Carson McDowell

Lacuna Developments (Winner)

McAleer & Rushe Ltd


Architectural Practice of the Year (Commercial) sponsored by Savills

9 Yards Property Ltd

Hamilton Architects

Todd Architects Ltd (Winner)


Architectural Practice of the Year (Residential) sponsored by Savills

2020 Architects (Winner)

Des Ewing Residential Architects

Kevin Cartin Architects Ltd

McCann Moore Architects

Shane Birney Architects


Property Deal of the Year sponsored by Wilson Nesbitt

Lambert Smith Hampton (Winner)



The Lotus Group


Residential Development of the Year sponsored by First Trust Bank

Cornerstone Property Development

Hagan Homes

Homes for Life (NI) Ltd (Winner)

JFM Construction Ltd

Milhench Property


Urban Property Solutions Ltd


Young Architect (under 30) of the Year sponsored by Recruit NI

Todd Architects Ltd Joanne Stewart (Winner)


Residential Lettings Agency of the Year sponsored by NIJobFinder

Fetherston Clements

John Minnis Estate Agents

McGuinness Fleck Ltd


Quinn Property Sales

Rea Estates (Winner)

Reeds Rains

Ulster Property Sales Rental Division


Commercial Estate Agency of the Year sponsored by A & L Goodbody

CBRE (Winner)

Lambert Smith Hampton


McKibbin Commercial

Murphy Surveyors

Osborne King



Young Agent (under 30) of the Year sponsored by Mills Selig

CPS Property Gareth Hughes

Parr Group Jake Mellor

John Minnis Estate Agents Jordana Stoney

Michael Chandler Estate Agents Kirsty Finney (Winner)

Lisney Lloyd Hannigan

McGeown Estate Agents Sarah Agnew

McGuinness Fleck Ltd Seamus McFlynn

Simon Brien Residential Tiffany Brien


Residential Estate Agency of the Year (Sole Branch) sponsored by Progressive Building Society

Best Property Services

Colliers New Homes

McGuinness Fleck Ltd

Michael Chandler Estate Agents (Winner)


Residential Estate Agency of the Year (Multi Branch) sponsored by Progressive Building Society

CPS Property (Winner)

Fetherston Clements

John Minnis Estate Agents

McGranaghan Estate Agents

Reeds Rains

Simon Brien Residential

Ulster Property Sales