Belfast Telegraph

Judges name finalists in Belfast Telegraph Property Awards

Record number of entries shows strength of sector

By Stephanie Bell

The finalists for the Belfast Telegraph Property Awards 2018 in partnership with Electric Ireland can now be announced.

Every year our competition grows and grows and this year is no exception, with a record number of entries flooding in.

The excellent standard and sheer volume of entries took our judges by surprise, but the tough job has been done and our finalists in each category have now been decided.

Each of those shortlisted will have to wait until our gala awards lunch in the Crowne Plaza in Belfast on November 16 to find out who the overall 2018 winners will be.

Commenting on this year's entries, chair of the judging panel, Professor Alastair Adair, deputy vice chancellor of Ulster University, said: "The Belfast Telegraph Property Awards 2018 in partnership with Electric Ireland go from strength to strength.

"This year the judging panel was delighted to see three new sponsored categories and many more entries than last year, demonstrating the huge appetite for the awards across the sector, sponsors and the general public.

"The high quality of nominations shows that people have a love affair with their built environment in which they live, work and play and the Belfast Telegraph Property Awards highlight the response of the sector to increase the quality of service and design that the public demands".

The finalists are:

Commercial Estate Agency category: Lambert Smith Hampton, Lisney, Osborne King and Murphy Chartered Surveyors.

Commercial Development: WH Stephens, Olympian Homes, Karl Asset Management and Lacuna Developments.

Property Deal of the Year Award: Lisney (re: 40-46 Donegall Place), Olympian Homes, Lambert Smith Hampton, Simon Brien Residential, Savills and Lisney & Osborne King as joint agents.

Commercial Fit-out: Barrett Group, CGDM Construction, RPP Architects Ltd, McCue Crafted Fit, Graham and Martin Property Group.

Architectural Practice (Commercial) Award: RMI Architects, Doherty Architects, McCreanor & Co Architects, McGurk Architects Ltd and RPP Architects Ltd.

Architectural Practice (Residential): McCreanor & Co Architects, BGA Architects Ltd, Micah T Jones Architects and 9 Yards Architecture.

Residential Estate Agency (Sole Branch): GOC Estate Agents, 360 Properties, Colin Graham Residential, Adams McGillan and Rodgers & Finney, while those shortlisted are (multi-branch category) CPS Property, Templeton Robinson, John Minnis Estate Agents, Pinpoint Property Ltd, Ulster Property Sales, Philip Tweedie & Co and Simon Brien Residential.

Residential Lettings Agency: GOC Estate Agents, CSM Estate Agents, John Minnis Estate Agents and Pinpoint Property Ltd.

Residential Development Award: Taggart Homes, Lotus Homes and Olympian Homes.

Best Interior Design: Fresh Interior Architecture Design, Taggart Homes, Atelier Interior Design and CSM Estate Agents.

Best Property Marketing Award: Phantom, Locale Home Sales & Lettings, Taggart Homes and Hagan Homes.

Innovative Use of Smarthome Technology: Portland 88.

Young Agent of the Year: James Callaghan, Joanna Robinson, Natasha Rodgers, Jonathan Haughey, Eoin O'Hagan, Patricia Donnelly, Tiffany Brien and Jordana Stoney.

Young Architect of the Year: Jonathan Spence, Fergal Rainey, William Brewster and Micah Jones.

Best Property Management Company of the Year: CPS Property, CSM Estate Agents, Gordon Estates Management, Charles White Ltd and Simon Brien Residential.