Belfast Telegraph

Chance to join the stars at our special sports awards night

By Steven Beacom

The 2016 Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards will have a new venue at the wonderful Waterfront Hall and YOU could be there joining the great and good of Northern Ireland sport.

The awards ceremony, which has celebrated our heroes for over two decades, is recognised as the biggest and best in sport here with world class performers and household names mixing with talented youngsters, revered coaches, volunteers and those doing outstanding work at grassroots level.

The Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards will take place in Belfast's Waterfront Hall on February 6, 2017 and will be hosted by leading broadcasters Craig Doyle and Claire McCollum.

Last year, of course, boxing sensation Michael Conlan was crowned Sports Star of the Year stating that it was a 'special honour' for him to follow some of the Northern Ireland greats who had claimed the top prize previously.

Former Northern Ireland captain and current Republic of Ireland boss Martin O'Neill became the country's latest sporting icon to be inducted into the Hall of Fame while Northern Ireland boss Michael O'Neill was named the Coach/Manager of the Year.

Ulster Rugby hero Iain Henderson was another to make the stage winning the coveted George Best Breakthrough Award with Northern Ireland skipper and Southampton midfielder Steven Davis lauded as the Player of the Year.

If you wish to be part of the star studded audience to see who takes home the trophies for 2016, you can book your place now.

It would be the perfect Christmas present for someone who loves their sport.

Tickets cost £70 plus VAT. To book contact Jcomms on 02890760066 or email

Belfast Telegraph Group Sports Editor Jim Gracey said: "The Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards recognise the great achievements of our sporting stars and there were plenty of those in 2016 so the ceremony in February is sure to be a special one. We love to see as many members of the public as possible at the ceremony.

"It is a great opportunity for everyone who is connected with and loves Northern Ireland sport to celebrate the feats of our gifted individuals, teams and those who work so hard at the grassroot levels of sport."

On February 6 at the Waterfront Hall, we will also announce what the public voted for as Northern Ireland's favourite sporting moment of 2016.

You can still vote for your choice. There are 10 moments shortlisted. They are:

  • Gareth McAuley's Euro 2016 goal for Northern Ireland against Ukraine.
  • Carl Frampton defeating Leo Santa Cruz to become World Featherweight champion.
  • Jonathan Rea retaining his World Superbike title.
  • Bethany Firth's golden world record in the Rio Paralympics.
  • Jason Smyth's fifth Paralympic gold in Rio.
  • Michael McKillop's golden moment at Paralympics
  • Rory Best leading Ireland to historic win over New Zealand
  • Rory McIlroy claiming the FedEx Cup
  • Tyrone lifting the Ulster Championship
  • Alastair Seeley breaking Robert Dunlop's North West 200 record

Vote for your favourite at in the Sports awards section.