Belfast Telegraph

Who will you nominate into our Hall of Fame?


George Best, Dame Mary Peters, Dr Jack Kyle, Barry McGuigan, Pat Jennings, Harry Gregg, Mike Gibson, Maeve Kyle, Paddy Hopkirk, Sean O'Neill, Tony McCoy and Willie John McBride.

All Northern Ireland sporting icons and just some of the figures in the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards Hall of Fame.

Considered by everyone in sport here as the biggest and best Sports Awards in the country, we will be inducting another of our favourite sporting sons or daughters into our legendary Hall of Fame in January.

It has proved to be a highlight of the glittering ceremony down the years and the 2013 award promises to be no different.

At the 2012 Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards, Northern Ireland's World Cup hero Gerry Armstrong was honoured.

Gerry collected his prize on stage from great friends and international team-mates Pat Jennings and Billy Hamilton.

The man, who put the ball in the Spanish net in 1982 to claim one of Northern Ireland's most famous victories and is now one of Sky's respected pundits, was almost rendered speechless!

It was a special night for the whole of the Armstrong clan because Gerry's wife Debby, knowing her hubby was set to receive one of the most prestigious awards in Northern Ireland sport, had arranged for many

family members to attend.

There were lots of happy and smiling faces when a proud Gerry returned to his table with applause ringing in his ears from the hundreds of guests, delighted to see such a popular Northern Ireland figure be recognised in this way.

The question is, who will follow in Gerry's famous footsteps when the next Hall of Fame inductee is announced on January 20, 2014 at the Ramada Plaza Hotel at Shaw's Bridge, Belfast?

We are looking for your nominations for the 2013 Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards, which we are proud to say have Armagh-based Health foods company Linwoods as our title sponsor.

Certainly through the decades, Northern Ireland has produced many sporting heroes who have delivered on a global stage and perhaps you feel there is someone who has given you hours and hours of joy, pleasure and entertainment in their particular field who merits consideration for the Hall of Fame prize, which is being sponsored by Belleek Living.

If so, please get nominating!

Remember there are a whole host of other categories from the Sports Star of the Year to the Young Player of the Year and Team of the Year to George Best Breakthrough Prize.

We celebrate those successful on a world stage and our local heroes making a difference at home at grass roots level.

You can nominate your own particular favourites in each of the 12 categories by visiting and completing a nomination form by Monday December 2, 2013.

Nominations can also be submitted (no more than 200 words) and posted to Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards, C/O JPR, Sylvan House, 232-240 Belmont Road, Belfast BT4 2AW.

With Sport Northern Ireland taking on the role of our sporting partner, the judging for all the Belfast Telegraph Sports awards will take place this coming December.


Click the link below to vote for Sports Star of the Year, Malcolm Brodie Player of the Year, Team of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Young Team of the Year, Manager/Coach of the Year, Sports Person of the Year with a Disability, George Best Breakthrough Award, Local Heroes and Special Recognition Award:

Vote for your sporting favourites

To vote in the Hall of Fame Award category, Manager/Coach of the Year and WJ Paddy Patterson Services to Sport Award, click the links below:

2013 Hall of Fame Award

Manager/Coach of the Year

WJ Paddy Patterson Services to Sport Award

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph