Belfast Telegraph

GAA: Armagh in frame for 'star' haul


TWELVE Ulster players are included among the nominees for Eircell Allstar football awards.

TWELVE Ulster players are included among the nominees for Eircell Allstar football awards.

And it will come as no big surprise that provincial champions Armagh provide ten candidates with Anthony Tohill (Derry) and Down's Shane Mulholland completing the Ulster contingent.

With the exception of full-back Ger Reid, the Armagh defence has been nominated en bloc. Goalkeeper Brendan Tierney, corner backs Justin and Enda McNulty along with the impressive orchard county half-back line of Kieran Hughes, Kieran McGeeney and Andrew McCann are all in line for honours.

And with midfielder Jarlath Burns also joining ace forwards Diarmaid Marsden, Oisin McConville and Patrick McKeever in the frame, Armagh could yet gain generous representation when the Allstar team is finally unveiled.

The nominations reflect Armagh's memorable Ulster championship campaign and provide further recognition of their achievement in winning the Anglo Celt Cup for the first time in 17 years.

Should Oisin McConville make the final fifteen, it will bring the curtain down in style on a golden year as he also helped Crossmaglen Rangers to win their second All Ireland Club title.

Anthony Tohill fully merits his inclusion following outstanding displays for Derry and then Ireland in Australia while Shane Mulholland's enterprise and flair highlighted Down's march into the Ulster final and marked him down as a quality forward.

All Ireland champions Meath and beaten finalists Cork each have twelve players in the running.

Not surprisingly, there is no Ulster name among the Allstar Hurling nominees.

All Ireland champions Cork provide thirteen nominees while Clare have twelve players nominated and beaten All Ireland finalists Kilkenny have ten.

The Allstar selectors now have the difficult task of choosing the football and hurling teams and only one thing is certain _ whatever permutations they come up with, they won't please everyone.

FOOTBALL: Goalkeepers: B Tierney (Armagh), K O'Dwyer (Cork), C Sullivan (Meath); Defenders: J McNulty, E McNulty, K Hughes, K McGeeney, A McCann (Armagh), M Cronin, A Lynch, R McCarthy, C O'Sullivan, O Sexton (Cork), D Fay, C Murphy, P Reynolds, E McManus, M Reilly (Meath, ) S Moynihan (Kerry), K Cahill, A Roche (Mayo). Midfielders: J Burns (Armagh), N Murphy, M O'Sullivan (Cork), A Tohill (Derry), C Whelan (Dublin), J McDermott (Meath). Forwards: D Marsden, O McConville, P McKeever (Armagh), P Clifford, D Davis, P O'Mahoney, J Kavanagh (Cork), S Mulholland (Down), I Robertson (Dublin), P Joyce (Galway), A MacGerailt (Kerry), J Horan (Mayo), D Curtis, T Giles, G Geraghty, E Kelly, O Murphy (Meath), D Dolan (Westmeath).

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph