Belfast Telegraph

GAA: McKeever elected as chairman

JIM McKeever is the new chairman of the Derry county board.

He was elected on the first count at the county convention at Owenbeg yesterday with 52 of the 97 votes with outgoing vice-chairman Danny McNicholl receiving 27.

The remaining candidates were south Derry chairman Paddy Higgins with 17 and Philip McKeown with one.

The remaining candidates were south Derry chairman Paddy Higgins with 17 and Philip McKeown with one.

McKeever's elevation to the Derry chair was not unexpected once he declared an interest in the position.

Six other nominated candidates withdrew before the conest.

Outgoing secretary Patsy Mulholland won by a large majority with 80 votes received compared to his sole challenger Frank Kearney's 17.

There was a major shock when Harry Grobben failed to be returned as a delegate to the Ulster Council.

A hard-working diligent official who also took the Derry under-21 team to All Ireland glory, he was confidently expected to pick up the necessary votes.

He did not manage it, with the two positions up for grabs taken by Danny Scullion and newcomer Chris Brown.

Apart from the unfortunate Gribben the other unsuccessful candidate was Brendan O'Neill of the Doire Colmcille club.

Harry Chivers, who stepped down as chairman after 10 years, was returned as the county's central council delegate. Harry Gribben and Brendan O'Neill also contested the position.

There were five candidates for the vice-chairman position. Sean Corey was eliminated on the first count, Gerry McEldowney in the second and Father Eddie Gallagher in the third.

In the final count between two present board members Willie Turner managed one over the quota of 48 votes with Colin Dixon on 36.

Assistant secretary Harry Joe McWilliams and treasurer Danny Scullion were returned unopposed.

Ann Sands was the only candidate for language officer and outgoing development officer Charlie Bonner held off a strong challenge from former youth officer Mickey Bradley, winning by 57 votes to 40.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph