Belfast Telegraph

Athletics: Record breakers!

Cracking displays at big meet

By Ruth Gorman

There were record breaking performances at the 'Celebrate Belfast' Northern Ireland and Ulster Athletics Championships at the Mary Peters Track yesterday.

Javelin ace Michael Allen smashed his own personal best by over four metres when he threw 79.55 and had one of the best series of throws witnessed at the Championships with four other throws over 71 metres.

Rhiannon McNally also set a new Northern Ireland record of 50.85 metres as she came fourth in the hammer behind Scottish winner and British Champion Shirley Webb, who produced 64.60.

Sprinter Anna Boyle blazed to success in the 100 metres in 11.30 seconds with the win unfortunately over the limit. However she beat her winning performance from last year by 0.33 seconds. Schools champion Amy Foster came second in 11.69 and later took the 200 metres in 24.21.

In the men's sprints Paul Brizzel took the honours in the 100 metres clocking a time of 10.49 while Paul McKee topped the 200 with 21.06.

A number of athletes enjoyed success in more than one event with Eva Massey in Shot and Discus, Mary McCloone in Long and Triple jumps, Claire Wilkinson at Long Jump and Pole Vault and English visitor Rob Newton in both Hurdles races.

Other impressive results included Gareth Turnbull's 1500 win, in which he produced a blistering surge in the third lap, and Kelly Reid's victory in the corresponding women's race after her comeback from injury.

The men's 800 went to Raymond Adams while the women's event was won by Lyndsey Monteith, who led all the way.

African visitor Aissata Soulima from Burkina Faso showed her class by winning the 400 metre hurdles from Edinburgh girl Catriona Pennet, who had earlier claimed gold in the 100 hurdles.

Northern Ireland and Ulster Track and Field Senior Championships Finals Results:

3000m Walk: 1. Brian O'Domhnaill, 2. Pat McElroy.

4x100 Metres Relay Final Intermediate Women: 1. Bloomfield Collegiate, 2. Lagan Valley, 3. St Dominic's High School.

100 Metres Hurdles Women: 1. Catriona Pennet, 2. Mandy Gault, 3. Rowena Fair.

110 Metres Hurdles Men: 1. Rob Newton, 2. Seleke Samake, 3. Matus Janecek.

400 Metres Men: 1. Brett Rund, 2. Brian Doyle, 3. Joe Godsell.

400 Metres Hurdles Women: 1. Aissata Soulama, 2. Catronia Pennet, 3. Rowena Fair.

2000m Steeplechase Women: 1. Heather Martin, 2. Lynn Murphy.

Primary School Mile Run: 1. Deane Williamson, 2. Michael England, 3. Fiona Saygivar.

100 Metres Women: 1. Anna Boyle, 2. Amy Foster, 3. Ailis McSeveeney.

100 Metres Men: 1. Paul Brizzel, 2. Idrissa Sanou, 3. Jason Smyth.

4x100 Metres Relay Minor Girls: 1. Regent House, 2. Friends School Lisburn, 3. Lagan Valley AC.

4x100 Metres Relay Colts: 1. Ballymena & Antrim AC, 2. Regent House, 3. Shimna Integrated College.

3000m Steeplechase Men: 1. Andrew Dunwoody, 2. Noel Carroll, 3. Matthew Livingstone.

4x100m Relay Junior Girls: 1. North Down AC, 2. Lagan Valley AC, 3. City of Lisburn AC.

4x100 Metres Relay Boys: 1. Regent House, 2. Ballymena & Antrim AC.

1500 Metres Women: 1. Kelly Reid, 2. Kerry Harty, 3. Lyndsey Freel.

1500 Metres Men: 1. Gareth Turnball, 2. Paul Pollock, 3. John Rogers.

5000 Metres Final: 1. Joe McCallister, 2. John Eves, 3. Patrick Casidy.

200 Metres Women: 1. Amy Foster, 2. Leigh Whiteside, 3. Jennifier Quinn.

200 Metres Men: 1. Paul McKee.

800 Metres Women: 1. Lyndsey Monteith, 2. Wnedy Davis, 3. Anna Rainey.

800 Metres Men: 1. Raymond Adams, 2. Michael Dyer, 3. Kevin McCloy.

Pole Volt Women: 1. Claire Wilkinson, 2. Michelle Harvey,

Hammer Men: 1. Andy Frost, 2. Mark Hanily, 3. Richard Murphy.

High Jump Women: 1. Claire Wilkinson, 2. Linzi Herron, 3. Helen Buckley.

Triple Jump Men: 1. Alan Kennedy, 2. Leslie Leung, 3. Michael McDonald.

Discus Women: 1. Eva Massey, 2. Caoimhe Vallelly-Gilroy, 3. Rhiannon McNally.

Triple Jump Women: 1. Mary Devlin, 2. Kiara Ferguson, 3. Jenny Curran.

Discus Men: 1. Jeremy Harper, 2. Gerard Nagle, 3. Jenny Curran.

Pole Vault Men: 1. Antony McCreery,

High Jump Men: 1. Martin Kalafus, 2. Caolan Flanagan, 3. David Shields.

Long Jump Men: 1. Darragh O'Farrell, 2. Jonathan Ritchie, 3. Alan Kennedy.

Javelin Women: 1. Laura Kerr, 2. Helen Buckley, 3. Kerry Harvey.

Javelin Men: 1. Michael Allen, 2. Said Al Harthy, 3. Paul Dunleer.

Shot Women: 1. Eva Massey, 2. Claire McAleese, 3. Rhiannon McNally.

Long Jump Women: 1. Mary McCLoone, 2. Nike Ositodunrin, 3. Mandy Gault.

Shot Men: 1. Gerard Nagle, 2. Jeremy Harper, 3. Daniel Quinn.

Hammer Women: 1. Shirley Webb, 2. Mona Holm, 3. Susan McKelvey.


From Belfast Telegraph