Belfast Telegraph

At a glance: Northern Ireland's 2017 General Election winners and losers

Here is a rundown of the winners and losers in Northern Ireland's 18 constituencies at the 2017 General Election.

Belfast East

The DUP's Gavin Robinson defied the pundits to retain his East Belfast seat in emphatic fashion.

The former Belfast mayor held off the challenge of the former MP for the area, Alliance Party leader Naomi Long.

Mrs Long had been tipped by the bookies to regain the seat she wrested off former DUP leader Peter Robinson in 2010 - primarily because the DUP had failed to sustain the electoral pact it struck with the Ulster Unionists in 2015.

But despite a UUP candidate in the field, Mr Robinson romped home with almost 24,000 seats and a majority of around 8,500.

Belfast North

The DUP's Nigel Dodds hailed his fifth consecutive victory as a win for democracy and representation.

He said: "This is a victory for democracy. It is a victory for representation and it is a victory which represents the largest DUP vote in the last 20 years."

He polled 21,240 votes.

Sinn Fein's John Finucane, who received 19,159 votes, expressed pride in his first electoral campaign.

Mr Finucane, who saw his solicitor father Pat Finucane shot dead by loyalists in 1989, said: "I am exceptionally proud to have returned the biggest mandate any republican has ever returned in north Belfast."

Belfast South

Emma Little Pengelly hailed her long time mentor Peter Robinson for helping mastermind her victory.

The former DUP leader and Stormont first minister came out of political retirement to manage his one-time special adviser's Westminster campaign.

She captured the seat long held by the SDLP's Alasdair McDonnell.

"I know Peter has come out of retirement to help and support me in this campaign and he has been absolutely invaluable," she said.

Belfast West

In an unsurprising victory, Paul Maskey romped over the line to retain Belfast West for Sinn Fein.

Mr Maskey, a veteran politician, who has held the mantle since Mr Adams' departure to the Dail six years ago, polled a record 27,107 votes.

In line with Sinn Fein's abstentionist policy, Mr Maskey will not take his seat at Westminster.

His closest rival was the DUP's Frank McCoubrey, who received 5,455 votes.

Sorcha Eastwood of the Alliance Party, who polled 731 votes, was not at the count centre to hear the result, as polling day coincided with her wedding.

East Antrim

The DUP's Sammy Wilson comfortably retained his Westminster seat with 57.3% of the vote.

The former Stormont finance minister, who has held the seat since 2005, increased his share of the vote by 21.2%.

"I am pleased that unionism, in this election, has found its voice,” he said.

East Londonderry

DUP veteran Gregory Campbell coasted to victory, taking nearly half the votes in East Londonderry.

There was never any fear of him losing the seat he has held since taking it from unionist rivals the UUP 16 years ago.

"If it is a hung parliament, I think for those who have chosen not to take up their seats, their voters will regret it," he said.

Fermanagh and South Tyrone

Sinn Fein's Michelle Gildernew has won back the Westminster seat that she lost to the Ulster Unionist's Tom Elliott two years ago.

Mrs Gildernew was declared Fermanagh South Tyrone's new MP after picking up 25,230 votes.

Addressing supporters at Omagh Leisure Centre, Mrs Gildernew said: "We tried to get our message across: there's a lot of fear and anxiety about Brexit and what that will mean for people here in Fermanagh South Tyrone."


Sinn Fein has pulled off a sensational scalp by defeating the SDLP in its heartland.

Amid scenes of disbelief at the Foyle count centre, Elisha McCallion - beat outgoing MP Mark Durkan by a slim 169 votes.

It was a historic and ground-breaking performance in what was the SDLP's safest seat.

Ms McCallion, 35, a popular former mayor of Derry, claimed during the campaign to be a new voice for a new era.

On taking her seat, she said: "There's partying to be done."

Lagan Valley

Northern Ireland's longest-serving MP has been returned again, with Sir Jeffrey Donaldson holding Lagan Valley.

Mr Donaldson secured 26,762 votes - an increase of more than 7,000 from the 2015 general election.

Mid Ulster

Sinn Fein's Francie Molloy, who won his Mid Ulster seat for a third time, called on his supporters to remember the former deputy first minister, Martin McGuinness, who died earlier this year.

During his acceptance speech Mr Molloy said: "I would like to thank the people of Mid Ulster for renewing the mandate that we have here. A mandate gained by Martin McGuinness 20 years ago and we remember him tonight."

Newry And Armagh

Sinn Fein's sitting MP for Newry and Armagh, Mickey Brady, stormed to victory in the Westminster election once again with a final vote that was more than 10,000 ahead of any other candidate.

He amassed 25,666 votes, adding more than 5,000 to his 2015 tally of 20,488.

North Antrim

The DUP's Ian Paisley Jnr said he has seen "unionism awakening" after a comfortable victory in North Antrim.

The returning MP polled more than 28,000 votes, nearly 20,000 more than his nearest rival, Sinn Fein's Cara McShane.

This victory marks the third time Mr Paisley has won the North Antrim seat, which his father, the late Rev Ian Paisley, former leader of the Democrat Unionist Party, held for 40 years until his retirement in 2010.

North Down

Independent Unionist Lady Sylvia Hermon retained her seat in North Down and warned that Theresa May’s days are numbered.

She won the seat by only 1,208 votes from the DUP's Alex Easton.

Lady Hermon used her victory speech to urge DUP leader Arlene Foster and Sinn Fein leader Michelle O'Neill to reach a compromise on getting the Stormont Assembly back up and running.

South Antrim

The DUP's Paul Girvan has taken back the seat the party lost to the UUP in 2015.

Mr Girvan took 38.2% of the vote, with the incumbent Danny Kinahan coming second with 30.8%.

Paul Girvan said: "We knew it would be a close call. A majority of 3,000 votes is not necessarily a big majority.”

South Down

Sinn Fein has dramatically seized the long-time SDLP stronghold of South Down.

Chris Hazzard has become the republican party's first MP in the area with 20,328 votes.

Mr Hazzard beat the SDLP's Margaret Ritchie - who had held the seat from 2010 - by more than 2,000 votes.

In his victory speech, Mr Hazzard said: "We are now entering a new era in South Down”.

Ms Ritchie said Brexit had changed the political landscape but insisted she was "going to live and fight another day".


Democratic Unionist Jim Shannon celebrated his phenomenal majority in Strangford by saying it was time to consider all unionists standing under the one banner.

With a margin of victory of close to 20,000 votes, the former soldier said: "I think the people of Strangford would like to see one unionist party.

"Maybe it's just time that we looked towards how we could make that happen."

Upper Bann

Sitting DUP MP David Simpson comfortably held his Upper Bann seat in the Westminster election with a tally of 22,317 votes.

He added almost 7,000 votes to his 2015 score of 15,430, while the Ulster Unionist Party saw their votes plummet well below the 10,000 mark.

West Tyrone

Sinn Fein's Barry McElduff has secured the Westminster seat formerly held by party veteran Pat Doherty in a stunning victory in West Tyrone.

Mr McElduff told supporters that his party's momentum is building as he received 22,060 votes and was the undisputed winner in the largely nationalist area of rural Northern Ireland.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph