Belfast Telegraph

West Tyrone & Fermanagh

West Tyrone is a predictable and safe constituency for Sinn Fein who has held the seat since 2001.

Pat Doherty has - with ease - retained the seat every election since after defeating the UUP’s William Thompson.

The republican announced earlier this month that he was standing down from politics after holding the Westminster seat for 16 years.

It is expected that his successor Barry McElduff will go on to claim the seat.

The popular Carrickmore man, who is an MLA in the area, will be defending the party’s majority of 10,000 votes which they gained at the 2015 election.

Also vying in the Westminster race is the DUP’s Thomas Buchanan who received the second largest amount of votes with 6,747 in total. He suffered a decline in the 2015 elections compared to his previous performance.

The SDLP candidate Daniel McCrossan is throwing his ring into the hat for the second time.

The 28-year-old gained 6,444 votes in the 2015 elections - a rise from party colleague Joe Byrne who received 5,212 votes in the 2010 election.

The UUP’s Alicia Clarke will run in place of Ross Hussey who confirmed at the beginning of the year that he wouldn’t be seeking re-election in the Assembly due to health concerns.

Mr Hussey said he was awaiting knee surgery.

Controversial independent Susan-Ann White who stood in the 2015 General Election is not putting herself forward. The former candidate caused a stir when she demanded that rock music be banned, gay people jailed and feminism abolished. She polled 166 votes in the last election.

Also appearing on the West Tyrone ballot card is the Green’s Ciaran McClean, Stephen Donnelly from the Alliance party and Barry Brown from CISTA, a party who wants to legalise cannabis.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph