Belfast Telegraph

Victims to be remembered at special memorial event

Mark Bain

By Mark Bain

Thousands of people had turned out to watch the Lisburn Fun Run on Wednesday, June 15, 1988.

Shortly before 9pm, as the crowds dispersed at the end of the race, an IRA bomb detonated under an Army Ford Transit van, which had stopped at traffic lights in Market Place in the town centre.

Six soldiers who had just completed the race were killed.

They were stationed at Ebrington Barracks in Londonderry and were heading to the local Thiepval Army Barracks before returning to base when the bomb went off.

Four of the men - Sergeant Michael Winkler (31), Signalman Mark Clavey (24), Lance Corporal Graham Lambie (22) and Corporal William Patterson (22) - were from the Royal Signals.

Corporal Ian Metcalf (36) served with the Green Howards and Lance Corporal Derek Green (20) with the Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

Eleven other people, all civilians including an 80-year-old man, a two-year-old boy and several teenagers, suffered injuries.

Survivors, armed forces representatives and former emergency services personnel who were on duty that evening will be among those gathering for a special service tonight to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the attack.

Several relatives of the victims who died are also expected to attend.

The public is being invited to join elected representatives and other guests at the memorial event, which will be held at Market Place at 6.30pm.

The event, organised by Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council, will see a plaque erected in memory of the murdered soldiers rededicated.

Mayor Uel Mackin said the memories of that night are still fresh in the minds of many local people.

"It is 30 years ago now and a lot of time has passed since then," he said.

"However the memories of those young men who were killed will stay with their families forever and of course they will never be forgotten by the council or the people of Lisburn."

The council has advised motorists that traffic will be disrupted at Market Place from around 5.30pm to 7.30pm.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph