Belfast Telegraph

NI election: North Antrim complete - Sinn Fein's Philip McGuigan first elected in DUP heartland

By Nevin Farrell

Sinn Fein's Philip McGuigan has become the first person elected in North Antrim after topping the poll earlier.

After getting congratulatory hugs from party colleague Michelle O'Neill he said: "I never been hugged as much in my life"

He told the Belfast Telegraph: "This is traditionally a stronghold for Unionism but not only have Sinn Fein topped the poll, we were elected first."

He said it sent out a very clear signal to the DUP.

The UUP's Robin Swann retained his seat.

Jim Allister (TUV), Paul Frew (DUP) and Mervyn Storey (DUP) have been elected in North Antrim. Phillip Logan (DUP) has lost his seat.

North Antrim final result - 2 DUP, 1 SF, 1 UU, 1 TUV.

>>Follow our election live blog here<<

>>Live results centre - select a constituency - every result as it happens - North Antrim - East Antrim - South Antrim - North Belfast - East Belfast - South Belfast - West Belfast - Strangford - South Down - Lagan Valley - Upper Bann - Newry and Armagh - Fermanagh & South Tyrone - West Tyrone - Mid Ulster - East Londonderry - Foyle - North Down

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph