Belfast Telegraph

Belfast Telegraph journalists recognised at the annual Northern Ireland Media Awards

Political Editor Liam Clarke was honoured posthumously with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Belfast Telegraph has been honoured at the Northern Ireland Media Awards scooping four awards, while our sister paper the Sunday Life won a further five.

Our late Political Editor Liam Clarke, who passed away earlier in December following an illness, was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The CIPR described the veteran journalist as a "true inspiration" as his honour was announced.

Belfast Telegraph Business Correspondent John Mulgrew won Business Journalist of the Year for the second year in a row, Suzanne Breen won Feature Journalist of the Year and Heather Byrne won Print Production Journalist of the Year.

Additionally Ivan Little won the Silver Award in the Feature Journalist of the Year category, Health Correspondent Victoria O'Hara won the Silver Award in the Specialist of the Year category and our Family Life pull out won the Silver Award in the Supplement of the Year category.

The Sunday Life won Newspaper of the Year, and it's Chief Reporter Ciaran Barnes won both Print Specialist of the Year and Newspaper Journalist of the Year. Journalist Ali Gordon won both the fiercely competitive Scoop of the Year category and also the Newcomer of the Year section.

Elsewhere the BBC's Stephen Nolan won Broadcast Journalist of the Year and Radio Presenter of the Year and his sidekick Vinny Hurrell won Entertainment Programme of the Year. Mandy McAuley from the BBC's Spotlight Programme won Investigative Journalist of the Year.

The BBC won six awards in total including News/Current Affairs Programme Of The Year for Nolan Live on BBC One and Broadcast Production Journalist of the Year for David O'Dornan's work on Nolan Live.

BBC Northern Ireland Director Peter Johnston congratulated all the winners.

"We are proud of the awards received at this year's CIPR ceremony and I would like to congratulate all the teams and individuals who won and were nominated," he said.

"The past year has been very eventful for us across TV and radio, and receiving this acknowledgement is testament to the dedication of our teams who continually strive to provide audiences with high quality programmes."

The Enniskillen based weekly newspaper, The Impartial Reporter won Local Newspaper of the Year, while the Derry News won the Silver award. Iain Gray of the Co Down Spectator won Local Journalist of the Year.

Congratulating the winners, CIPR NI Chair Samantha Livingstone said: “These awards celebrate the strength of our local media. Whilst the media landscape has evolved over the last 23 years, one thing has remained constant and that is the outstanding talent we have working within the Northern Ireland media–bringing us the news that matters 24/7. It is for this reason why the CIPR Northern Ireland is passionate about these awards and its ability to acknowledge the exceptional work of our local media professionals.

“I would like to congratulate all winners and those commended on their success. I would also like to thank our title sponsors Coca-Cola for their continuing support.”

Sarah Smith, Public Relations Coordinator, from main sponsor Coca-Cola HBC Northern Ireland also congratulated the winners and commended all of the media professionals who work and report in Northern Ireland and the extremely high standards of journalism they display in bringing colour, debate and insight from the very heart of what is making the news.

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph