Belfast Telegraph

Belfast Zoo photo competition 2015 winners announced

The winners of Belfast Zoo's annual photographic competition have been announced.

The competition, which has been running for 32 years, challenges budding and amateur photographers to creatively capture the animals and scenes of the zoo.  Winners were announced at the awards ceremony on Saturday in the elephant and giraffe house.

View all of the winners in our gallery above. Click the magnifying glass to view in full screen.

Zoo manager, Mark Challis, said "The competition launched on 14 April and we received more than 350 entries.

"Even though the competition has been running for more than 30 years, we are always astounded by the quality and skill demonstrated each year. 

"It is also wonderful to see which subjects the photographers have chosen for their submissions and the competition certainly highlights the beauty and diversity of the species that we care for, from tiny tamarins to the Asian elephants! 

"I would like to thank everyone who took part in the competition and also congratulate our winner and all entrants on their ‘zooper’ photographs."

Category A - best picture taken by a club photographer

1st prize –Terry Hanna (overall winner of the competition)

2nd prize – Joe Beattie

3rd prize – Terry Hanna

highly commended – Joe Beattie

highly commended – Mark Gillan

Category B - best picture taken by a zoo visitor

1st prize – Bruce Marshall

2nd prize – Peter Morgan

3rd prize – Peter Morgan         

highly commended –  Bruce Marshall

highly commended – Aurimas Slavickis

highly commended – Jude Rankin

Category C - best black and white picture

1st prize – Matthew Allen

2nd prize- Raymond Hughes

3rd prize – Phillip Hutton        

highly commended – Bruce Marshall

highly commended – Phillip Hutton

Category D - best funny caption

1st prize – Alan Dodridge

highly commended – Gemma Vennard

highly commended – Bruce Marshall

Category E - best picture taken by someone under 16

1st prize – Fiona Beattie

highly commended – Alexander Allen

highly commended – Fiona Beattie

Category F - best adventurer picture

1st prize- Deirdre Corrigan

Highly commended – Wayne Gilmore

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph