Belfast Telegraph

Chinese and Indian tourists not allowed into Derry without visa

Tourists from a number of foreign countries holidaying in the Republic of Ireland will not be allowed into Londonderry, the UK City of Culture 2013, unless they apply for a separate UK visa.

Tourist Minister Arlene Foster revealed holidaymakers from a range of countries with valid Irish visas are not allowed into Derry due to “security and resource” considerations.

Tourists from the same 16 countries holidaying here on UK visas are now allowed to travel to Donegal.

But tourists from two of the most populous countries in the world - China and India - will not be allowed to pay a flying visit to Londonderry even if they are visiting Buncrana as valid Irish visa holders.

Tourists from the Russian Federation, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Belarus, Montenegro, Serbia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan will also need to apply for separate UK and Irish visas if they want to cross the border.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph