Belfast Telegraph

Constituency profile: West Tyrone

West Tyrone is a predictable and safe constituency for Sinn Fein, which has held the seat since 2001.

Pat Doherty has — with ease — retained the seat every election since defeating the UUP’s William Thompson.

The republican announced earlier this month that he was standing down from politics after holding the Westminster seat for 16 years.

It is expected that his successor Barry McElduff will go on to claim the seat.

The popular Carrickmore man, an MLA in the area, will be defending the party’s majority of 10,000 votes from the 2015 election.

Also vying in the Westminster race is the DUP’s Thomas Buchanan, who received the second largest vote — 6,747. He suffered a 2.3% decline in the 2015 election compared to his previous performance.

The SDLP candidate, Daniel McCrossan, is throwing his hat into the ring for the second time. The 28-year-old gained 6,444 votes in the 2015 elections.

The UUP’s Alicia Clarke will run in place of Ross Hussey, who confirmed at the beginning of the year that he wouldn’t be seeking re-election in the Assembly due to health concerns.

Controversial independent Susan-Ann White, who stood in the 2015 General Election, is not putting herself forward.

The former candidate caused quite a stir when she demanded that rock music be banned, gay people jailed and feminism abolished.

She polled 166 votes in the last election. 


Barry Brown – Citizens Independent Social Thought Alliance

Thomas Buchanan – DUP

Alicia Clarke – UUP

Stephen Donnelly – Alliance

Ciaran McClean – Green Party

Daniel McCrossan – SDLP

Barry McElduff – Sinn Fein

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph