Belfast Telegraph

DUP in seventh heaven in Portadown after big victory

By Mark McConville

Former MLA Sydney Anderson was elected at the first time of asking for the DUP in the Portadown district with some help from his former protege.

Jonny Buckley took Mr Anderson's seat on the council and was then elected to the Assembly after Mr Anderson stepped back from frontline politics.

Mr Anderson said it was a "tremendous" day for the DUP, who returned seven candidates in total.

He added: "I said the 2016 Assembly election would be my last run and due to circumstance it lasted about nine months. I stepped back in 2017 and we brought Jonny in and I was his election agent as we delivered a great result for him."

Among the DUP's successful seven were Darryn Causby and Lavelle McIlwrath, who joined Mr Anderson in Portadown. Gareth Wilson was elected in Cusher, Mark Baxter and Paul Rankin in Lagan River and Margaret Tinsley in Craigavon.

Sinn Fein returned four with Keith Haughian (Lurgan), Catherine Nelson (Craigavon), Brona Haughey (Cusher) and Paul Duffy (Portadown) all elected.

The UUP returned five: Kenneth Twyble (Craigavon), Jim Speers (Cusher), Kyle Savage (Lagan River), Louise McKinstry (Lurgan) and Julie Flaherty (Portadown). The SDLP took three seats: Thomas Larkham and Declan McAlinden (both Craigavon) and Eamon McNeill (Portadown). One independent - Paul Berry (Cusher) - was elected.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph