Belfast Telegraph

Election set for new Presbyterian Moderator

Presbyterians from across Ireland will meet in 19 different Presbyteries tomorrow to elect a new Moderator.

They will decide who will take over from the current Moderator — the Rt Rev Dr Norman Hamilton — at the General Assembly in June.

Among the five candidates are Rev Ivan Patterson from Newcastle, who received four votes last year, and Rev Roy Mackay from Second Comber, who received one.

Rev Norman McCauley from Greenwell Street, Newtownards, who tied on the first ballot last year with Dr Hamilton on five votes, has indicated that he does not wish to be considered this year.

Rev Derek McKelvey from Fisherwick in Belfast, who received four votes last year, has also indicated that he does not wish his name to be considered this time.

The three newcomers to this year's election are the Rev Joseph Andrews from Ballee, the Rev Rob Craig from Kilfennan in Londonderry, and the Rev Roy Patton from Ballygilbert.

In the event of a tie a second ballot will be held in several weeks time.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph