Belfast Telegraph

Fans urged to back Burrows in Fifa goal of the year bid

by Chris McCann

Carling and the Irish FA are calling on the Northern Ireland public to vote for red-hot Glentoran striker, Matty Burrows’ wonder goal which has propelled him into worldwide football fame.

Burrows amazing strike in a Carling Premiership match in October has been shortlisted in the final 10 of the Ballon d'Or — Puskas Award, Fifa's goal of the year which puts the 25-year-old’s name up in lights alongside football superstars Lionel Messi and Arjen Robben.

The goal has been viewed more than four million times online as well as being shown on Soccer AM, Football Focus and on the big screen in Times Square, New York and puts Burrows in the running for one of the top accolades in world football which would see him rubbing shoulders with football greats at the awards ceremony in Zurich in January.

Carling’s Jordana Grimes is calling on everyone to show their support by voting at .

“We’re delighted that Matty’s strike in the Carling Premiership match against the Ports last month has been recognised as one of the top goals in the world, which is a first for the Irish league and fantastic for Northern Ireland football,” said Jordana.

“We’re urging everyone in Northern Ireland to support Matty and the Carling Premiership and vote for his goal which is up against an array of international football talent.

“With the support of the public and local football legends such as Jackie Fullerton, we’re backing Matty to go all the way to Zurich in January.”

Burrows is hoping the support of the Northern Ireland public can make his dreams come true.

“It means a lot to me, when you are growing up you can't imagine that a goal you scored would be seen all over the world so it's been amazing,” added Burrows. “To be up against some of the most talented and respected footballers in the world is an incredible feeling and to have the award within my grasp is unbelievable. I just hope everyone in Northern Ireland will go online and vote for me.”

To vote for Matty, visit by the closing date of December 13. The winner will be revealed on January 10, 2011.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph