A landmark 19th century chapel in the foothills of Cave Hill has gone on the market as part of a unique new residential development.
The former Chapel of the Resurrection, which dates back to the mid-1800s, is steeped in history and is one of the best-known buildings in north Belfast.
The listed structure is the centrepiece of a 3.2 acre site located in a prime residential area on the Antrim Road. It is now being marketed by Simon Brien Residential for £1.35m.
The third Marquis of Donegall built the former chapel as a memorial to his son Frederick Richard, the Earl of Belfast, and work was completed in 1869.
The ownership of the chapel was transferred to the Church of Ireland in 1938, when it was renamed the Chapel of the Resurrection.
In the late 1980s the building was sold and acquired by the current owner, who carried out significant renovation work in conjunction with the Northern Ireland Environment Agency to prevent deterioration.
It is set among established mature housing on an elevated site enjoying stunning views across Belfast Lough and beyond.
And within the immediate area are popular attractions such as Belfast Castle, Cavehill Country Park, Belfast Zoo and Fortwilliam Golf Club.
Selling agent Shane Maguire of Simon Brien Residential said: "The sale of the landmark former Chapel of the Resurrection with development lands at the Antrim Road represents a superb opportunity to acquire an iconic local building with zoned housing lands in a highly sought-after residential location in north Belfast.
"With ongoing improvements in the Northern Ireland housing market, in particular demand for newbuild homes, interest in the site is expected to be exceptionally strong.
"This unique development opportunity is anticipated to appeal to a wide range of house builders."