Belfast Telegraph

How did Northern Ireland MPs vote in Theresa May's General Election call?

Of the 522 MPs who supported the motion, 325 were Conservatives and 174 Labour.

Eight of the nine Liberal Democrat MPs voted in favour of the motion, with former leader Nick Clegg the one not listed.

Those also to vote aye included the eight Democratic Unionist Party MPs, three Plaid Cymru, two Ulster Unionist Party, Green Party co-leader Caroline Lucas and Independent MP Simon Danczuk (Rochdale).

Tellers for the ayes were Tory MPs Heather Wheeler (South Derbyshire) and Jackie Doyle-Price (Thurrock).

A handful of Labour MPs in the chamber did not leave their seats to vote, while the SNP also abstained.

Thirteen MPs - including nine Labour - voted against Prime Minister Theresa May's motion calling for an early general election.

This included Labour's Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley), Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley), Paul Farrelly (Newcastle-under-Lyme), Jim Fitzpatrick (Poplar and Limehouse), Clive Lewis (Norwich South), Fiona Mactaggart (Slough), Liz McInnes (Heywood and Middleton), Dennis Skinner (Bolsover) and Graham Stringer (Blackley and Broughton).

Three independents: Lady Hermon (North Down), Natalie McGarry (Glasgow East) and Michelle Thomson (Edinburgh West).

One SDLP: Alasdair McDonnell (Belfast South).

SDLP MPs Margaret Ritchie (South Down) and Mark Durkan (Foyle) acted as tellers for the noes.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph