Belfast Telegraph

How did Northern Ireland's MPs vote over government bill to trigger Brexit process?

MPs have voted in favour of the Government bill triggering the formal process of leaving the European Union.

Legislation to allow Theresa May to start formal Brexit talks has cleared its first Commons hurdle after MPs gave it a second reading by 498 votes to 114 - a majority of 384.

Read more:

Brexit moves closer as MPs vote in favour of legislation to trigger Article 50 

How did Northern Ireland's MPs vote?


There were 498 MPs who voted in favour of the Bill's second reading.

Among them were Ulster Unionist Party MPs - Tom Elliott (Fermanagh & South Tyrone) and Danny Kinahan (Antrim South).

Democratic Unionist Party MPs: Gregory Campbell (Londonderry East), Nigel Dodds (Belfast North), Jeffrey Donaldson (Lagan Valley), Ian Paisley (Antrim North), Gavin Robinson (Belfast East), Jim Shannon (Strangford), David Simpson (Upper Bann) and Sammy Wilson (Antrim East).


There were 114 MPs who voted against the Bill's second reading.

Among them were: SDLP MPs -  Mark Durkan (Foyle), Alasdair McDonnell (Belfast South) and Margaret Ritchie (South Down).

Independent Lady Hermon (North Down)

Read more: How MPs voted to give Brexit Bill a second reading

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph