Belfast Telegraph

Martin McGuinness names Sinn Fein Stormont Executive ministers

Martin McGuinness has announced his four Sinn Fein colleagues who will be appointed as ministers at Stormont.

They are Mairtin O'Muilleoir, Michelle O'Neill, Chris Hazzard and Megan Fearon.

Making the announcement the Deputy First Minister said: "Sinn Fein is an Irish Republican party, we stood in the Assembly election to deliver a prosperous economy and jobs, to protect and enhance public services, support those most in need and to progress Irish Unity.

"We are grateful for the mandate we received and will set delivering as Ministers at the Executive.

"The task ahead of us will be extremely challenging as the Tory party continue with their austerity agenda and as we continue to resolve the issues of the past and build unity, reconciliation, and equality.

Read more

I'd consider being Justice Minister, independent unionist MLA Claire Sugden confirms

"Sinn Féin will be entitled to three full Ministerial position and a junior Ministerial position in The Executive Office.

"We have today agreed our Ministerial nominees to be Michelle O’Neill, Máirtín Ó Muilleoir, Chris Hazzard and Megan Fearon.  We will also be appointing Carál Ní Chuilín as group leader and Assembly party whip.

"While others have walked away from their responsibilities, the Sinn Fein team will work with the other ministers in partnership to deliver for all the people."

It's expected that the DUP will name its ministers on Wednesday.

The justice minister position is also expected to be announced. Speaking at Tuesday's announcement Mr McGuinness refused to be drawn on the issue but said it would be resolved to his satisfaction.

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph