Belfast Telegraph

Photojournalists in the frame to snap up Press Photographer of the Year awards

By Staff Reporter

Northern Ireland's top photojournalists have been recognised at the BT Press Photographer of the Year awards.

The ceremony took place at a gala dinner in Belfast City Hall on Thursday night.

Organised by the Northern Ireland Press Photographers Association, the competition attracted almost 400 entries from more than 30 photographers across the country.

Forty-one prizes spanning nine categories, 10 merit awards, one runner-up and two overall winners were awarded.

The event also celebrated the 40th anniversary of the Northern Ireland Press Photographers' Association. The awards ceremony was hosted by Depaul president and broadcasting legend Sir Trevor McDonald OBE, raising money for Depaul, a cross-border charity that works with people who are homeless, or are at risk of homelessness.

Charles McQuillan of Getty Images and Pacemaker Press snapped up the coveted BT Photographer of the Year award with William Cherry of Press Eye named runner-up.

The title of BT Provincial Photographer of the Year was awarded to John McVitty of the Impartial Reporter, for the third year in a row.

John was also crowned the Coca Cola Business/PR Photographer of the Year

Northern Ireland Press Photographer of the Year: 40 years of iconic images 

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph