Belfast Telegraph

Polling stations: everything you need to know as you arrive

Polling stations are open from 7am until 10pm. Any voter who arrives at the polling station before 10pm and is still waiting in a queue at 10pm will be able to vote.

* Check your poll card to find the location of your polling station. Voters can only cast their vote at the polling station stated on the card. If you have lost your poll card, you can find out where your polling station is by visiting or by calling 0800 4320 712.

* You don't need your poll card to vote, but it can speed up the process.

* Don't forget your photo ID - you can't vote without it! You can still use it to vote, even if it has expired.

* At a UK general election, you should only place one X on your ballot paper against the candidate of your choice.

* Don't make any other mark or it may not be counted.

* If you have a postal vote, but have not had a chance to return it by polling day, you can hand it in at your local area electoral office before 10pm.

* You can ask staff at the polling station if you need advice on the voting process and how to mark your ballot paper.


The result of a joint BBC, ITV and Sky exit poll will be released at 10pm — as soon as polling stations close.

The survey will be taken from 144 polling stations across Britain, asking voters at these stations to mark a mock ballot paper to show how they have voted. Similar exit polls have correctly predicted who would take the keys to Number 10 in the last five elections, and in 2005 and 2010 came extremely close to predicting the exact number of seats.

Results to watch for (timings approximate):

By 12am: The three Sunderland constituencies — traditionally first to declare and all safe Labour seats— should be in.

1.25am: The East Belfast tussle between Alliance leader Naomi Long and the DUP’s Gavin Robinson has been too close to call. Long took the seat from previous DUP leader Peter Robinson in 2010, but she lost it to Gavin Robinson five years later.

– The Foyle result should be in around the same time. Sinn Fein overtook the SDLP here for the first time in the 2017 Assembly election, and pundits will be watching for evidence of unionists voting tactically for Mark Durkan.

1.30am: Darlington: If the Conservatives win here in Labour’s heartland of north-east England, then they are on course to enjoy a very good night.

1.45am: South Antrim: The UUP’s Danny Kinahan could be pushed out by the DUP’s Paul Girvan. The seat has flipped between the two parties in the past, but the Ulster Unionists are desperate to hold the seat, one of only two they have.

2am: Bury North, Peterborough and Thurrock: Three Tory marginals are due to declare — all are key Labour targets.

2.30am: Islington North: Jeremy Corbyn’s result should see him safely returned by a big margin.

2.45am: North Belfast: DUP deputy leader Nigel Dodds is expected to hold on, but could face a stiff challenge from new Sinn Fein candidate, John Finucane.

3am: South Belfast: The SDLP’s Alasdair McDonnell received the lowest share of the vote of any MP in the last general election and is very vulnerable in this four-way fight also involving Alliance, the DUP and Sinn Fein.

Westmorland & Lonsdale: Tim Farron’s seat is due to declare. The Lib Dem leader could lose to the Tories on a 9.3% swing.

3.30am: Sedgefield: Tony Blair’s former seat would fall to the Conservatives on an 8.9% swing.

4am: Gower: The seat with the smallest majority in the country (just 27 in 2015), which Labour is hoping to take back from the Conservatives.

Richmond Park and Twickenham: Can Zac Goldsmith (Con) and Vince Cable (Lib Dem) win back their respective former seats?

4.15am: South Down: Sinn Fein overtook the SDLP here in the Assembly election, but the SDLP’s Margaret Ritchie can count on unionist tactical votes to help her. But will it be enough?

4.30am: Maidenhead: Theresa May’s seat is expected to declare around now.

Sheffield Hallam: Lib Dem former deputy PM Nick Clegg could lose his seat on a swing of 2.2% to Labour.

5am: Boston & Skegness: Ukip leader Paul Nuttall is hoping to win this seat from the Conservatives.

5.15am: Fermanagh & South Tyrone: Sinn Fein’s Michelle Gildernew is hoping to win back the seat from the UUP’s Tom Elliott in this knife-edge vote. While unionists have united behind the agreed candidate, republicans have thrown everything into winning the seat back.

7am: Thanet South: Tory marginal being defended by Craig Mackinlay, who has been charged with allegedly overspending in the 2015 general election.

By 12pm: After a lull during the morning, the final  seats should be declared just  before lunchtime —  Berwick-upon-Tweed, Blyth  Valley and Wansbeck.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph