Belfast Telegraph

Queen's honours for Blair and Ahern

Former Prime Minister Tony Blair and Taioseach Bertie Ahern are to receive honorary degrees from Queen's University during the university's centenary year.

Both will be awarded Doctorates of Laws for distinction in public service.

This year's honorary graduate list also includes Northern Ireland peace campaigners Rev Harold Good, who recently won the 2007 World Methodist Peace award, and Father Alec Reid, along with Japanese peace ambassador Daisaku Ikeda.

Also to be honoured are Man Booker prize-winning novelist Anne Enright and former Queen’s Pro-Chancellors Lady McLaughlin and Dr Chris Gibson.

‘Absolutely Fabulous’ star Joanna Lumley and Northern Ireland born actor James Ellis are among those who will receive degrees at this year’s summer and winter graduation ceremonies.

Also to receive honorary doctorates are Nobel prize winning chemist Professor Gerhard Ertl, distinguished historian Professor Donald Akenson, solar physicist Dame Carole Jordan and electronic composer Professor John Chowning. Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge Professor Alison Richard, journalist and broadcaster Professor Laurie Taylor and eminent haematologist Dr Chitra Bharucha, vice-chairperson of the BBC Trust, will also be honoured.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph