Belfast Telegraph

Teachers shine at local awards

By Michael Bashford and Fiona Rutherford

Three teachers from North Down have been honoured at this year’s 2010 Teaching Awards.

Frazer Bailie, from Bloomfield Primary School in Bangor, won the National College Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School. Faithe Moffett, from Crawfordsburn Primary School, received a distinction in the same category.

Meanwhile, David Stinson, from Sullivan Upper School in Holywood, won the Becta Award for Next Generation Learning.

Winning headteachers, teachers, teaching assistants, governors, sustainable schools and school teams each received a Plato, the Teaching Awards symbol of excellence in education. Other finalists were rewarded with a distinction or commendation and an engraved glass award.

All were cheered on by a 250- strong audience, including pupils, parents and colleagues at The Waterfront Hall, Belfast, on Tuesday. The ceremony was hosted by BBC TV presenter Donna Traynor.

Caroline Evans, chief executive of the Teaching Awards, said: ‘This is an exciting day for individuals who have been recognised and rewarded.

“Congratulations to them all and to their schools where the brilliance rubs off. I am delighted to meet the new class of 2010 who are Teaching Awards’ ambassadors for education at its best.”

The Northern Ireland winners will all go forward to the UK Teaching Awards ceremony on October 31 in London.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph