Belfast Telegraph

Third Eastside Awards 'are biggest and best yet'

Jonathan McAlpin (left), chair of Eastside Awards Committee, and Stephen Patton of George Best Belfast City Airport taking off to announce this year’s Eastside Awards finalists
Jonathan McAlpin (left), chair of Eastside Awards Committee, and Stephen Patton of George Best Belfast City Airport taking off to announce this year’s Eastside Awards finalists

By Staff Reporter

The people and companies in the running to be named the 'best in the East' are revealed today.

Organisers have confirmed the finalists of the third annual Eastside Awards — run in association with George Best Belfast City Airport.

Judges received the highest number of entries since the competition started three years ago to honour individuals, organisations and businesses contributing to life in the east of the city.

And this year, the public voted on the Belfast Telegraph website for four new categories — beauty salon, hair salon, eatery and takeaway.

Jonathan McAlpin, chief executive of East Belfast Enterprise and chair of Eastside Awards Committee, said: “It’s a hat-trick for the Eastside Awards with a phenomenally high calibre of entries from local people across the community in this third year.

“With such a diverse range of finalists, our awards ceremony in January will be a superb celebration of the best of east Belfast,” he added.

Stephen Patton of George Best Belfast City Airport commented: “The awards are a brilliant opportunity to celebrate individuals and organisations who make a significant contribution to the development of their community.

“At the airport, we are embedded in the local community through a number of initiatives including our Community Fund, adopted schools programme and High Flyers Apprenticeship Scheme. Earlier this year, our Community Fund celebrated investing just over £400,000 in 150 local projects, with many activities in east Belfast.”

The Eastside Awards finalists are:

Eastside Award for Favourite Beauty Salon: The Secret Day Spa, Beyoutiful Hair and Beauty, Beauty Culture.

Eastside Award for Favourite Hair Salon: LaVeau Hair, Company Haircutters, Urbanroots.

Eastside Award for Favourite Eatery: Orchard Cafe, Peppercorn Cafe, The Lamppost Cafe.

Eastside Award for Favourite Takeaway: Mandarin City, The Fryar Tuck, Nicos Pizza Pasta.

Eastside Award for Tourism Experience: East Belfast Mission - Turas, Hidden Ulster Tours, We Are Vertigo.

Eastside Award for Individual Contribution to Sport: Artur Kopyt, Glentoran Football Club Academy Polish Section, Gervis Knox and Keith Knox, Ormeau Table Tennis Club & Ulster Table Tennis, Alex McGreevy and Philip Corr, Titanic Quarter Cycling Club.

Eastside Award for Contribution to the Arts: Aly Harte, Arlene Megaw, East Belfast Mission; Strand Arts Centre.

Eastside Award for Educator of the Year: Beverley Cripps, Ashfield Girls' High School; Aly Harte, Lynn Myers, Strathearn School.

Eastside Award for Best Community Project: Charter NI - Diamond Project, East Belfast Mission - Turas, Groundwork Northern Ireland.

Eastside Award for Employer of the Year: Oasis Travel, Odyssey Bowl, Precept IT.

Titanic Eastside Award for Innovation: Proud, Spectra Sensory Clothing, We Are Vertigo.

Eastside Award for Business Start-Up: Home Away From Home, Marketing Tech & Design, Spectra Sensory Clothing.

Eastside Award for Business Growth: Belfast Pilates & Physiotherapy, Precept IT, Totalis Construction Ltd.

Eastside Award for Volunteer of the Year: Jodie Killops, Glentoran Football Club; Pamela Loan, East Belfast Mission; Brian White, Brain Injury Matters.

Eastside Award for Young Person of the Year: Coleen Bergantinos, Ashfield Girls' High School; Jonathan McLaughlin, Grosvenor Grammar School; Mason Robinson, Pocket Pal.

The recipient of a special Outstanding Contribution award sponsored by East Belfast Enterprise will be announced at the third annual awards ceremony as chosen by the committee. This individual will be awarded for the outstanding contribution they have made to the East Belfast community.

The third annual Eastside Awards will be hosted by BBC presenter Tara Mills who will announce the winners at a Burns Night themed celebration, with a pre dinner reception sponsored by The Waterside, Belfast, in Hastings Stormont Hotel on Friday 25 January 2019.

Finalists for the Eastside Awards will each receive two complimentary tickets for the awards ceremony. Additional tickets for Eastside Awards are priced at £45 plus VAT and can be purchased by logging onto;;; #eastawardsni

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph