Belfast Telegraph

'We desire an inclusive debate': letter in full

Doug Beattie
Doug Beattie

"We the undersigned desire a transparent and inclusive debate concerning rights, truth, equality and civil liberties and in so doing challenge assumptions that such values are not embedded within civic unionism, pluralism and other identities.

We are motivated by the desire to build a society for the betterment of everyone. This cannot happen when such a commitment is perceived as being vested in one community or political persuasion. We find it frustrating and puzzling that civic unionism, pluralists and other forms of civic leadership have been rendered invisible in many debates focused on rights and responsibilities.

It has reduced our capacity to be heard and undermines the power of reconciliation to shift society away from stale and limiting notions of identity.

We have worked for peace and reconciliation and in so doing have had open and transparent engagement with civic nationalism. That has included recognition of the need for equality and most importantly the urgent need for polarised communities in Northern Ireland to reconcile and deal with barriers to a better future. To achieve this requires the recognition that withholding truth presents as such.

This is not unique to any institution or section within our society but where it is a selective process, healing a pernicious and destabilising past remains as a challenge to us all. Civic unionism, and other identities are not resistant to claims of equality and full citizenship.

These identities are central to the development of an authentically fair and tolerant society.

We wish to unite, not divide, and in encouraging transparency we call upon civic nationalism and others to engage with us in frank and fulsome debates about the many values and beliefs that are commonly shared and are vital to transforming the issues that we face."

The signatories who say aim of a better society is shared by them too

  •  Brian Acheson
  •  Ian Acheson
  •  Irwin Armstrong
  •  Arthur Aughey
  •  Stuart Aveyard
  •  John Barry
  •  Doug Beattie
  •  John Bew
  •  Elizabeth Boyd
  •  Gavin Boyd
  •  William Boyd
  •  Glenn Bradley
  •  Michael Briggs
  •  Daniel Brown
  •  Jonathan Burgess
  •  Paul Burgess
  •  Jason Burke
  •  Alison Campbell
  •  Stevie Campbell
  •  Lesley Carroll
  •  Jim Crothers
  •  Jonny Currie
  •  Vince Curry
  •  Glenda Davies
  •  James Dingley
  •  Brian Dougherty
  •  Jeffrey Dudgeon
  •  John Dunlop
  •  Janice Dunwoody
  •  Aaron Edwards
  •  William Ennis
  •  Brian Ervine
  •  Linda Ervine
  •  Isabella Evangelisti
  •  Neil Faris
  •  Albert Flanagan
  •  Dean Farquhar
  •  Stewart Finn
  •  John W Foster
  •  James Gallacher
  •  Richard Garland
  •  Brian Garrett
  •  James Greer
  •  Trevor Hamilton
  •  Barry Hazley
  •  Helen Henderson
  •  Maureen Hetherington
  •  Chris Hudson
  •  Fiona Hutchinson
  •  Mark Irvine
  •  Kathryn Johnston
  •  Georgina Kee-McCarter
  •  James Kee
  •  Julia Kee
  •  Lauren Kerr
  •  John Kyle
  •  Paul Leeman
  •  David McAloanen
  •  Chris McGimpsey
  •  Shirley McMichael
  •  Lesley Macaulay
  •  William Matchett
  •  Andrew Mawhinney
  •  Lindsay Millar
  •  Lewis Montgomery
  •  Derek Moore
  •  Pamela Moore
  •  Steve Moore
  •  Gareth Mulvenna
  •  Mike Nesbitt
  •  George Newell
  •  Hannah Niblock
  •  Russell Orr
  •  Jenny Palmer
  •  John Palmer
  •  Len Peace
  •  Claire Pierson
  •  Andy Pollak
  •  Catherine Pollock
  •  Dawn Purvis
  •  David Ramsey
  •  Chris Reid
  •  Stafford Reynolds
  •  Trevor Ringland
  •  John Shackels
  •  David Shaw
  •  Stephanie Shaw
  •  Peter Shirlow
  •  Frank Shivers
  •  Philip Smith
  •  David Smyth
  •  Neil Southern
  •  Brian Spencer
  •  David Stewart
  •  John Stewart
  •  Robin Stewart
  •  Kyle Thompson
  •  Brian W Walker
  •  Garth Watson
  •  David Whiteside
  •  Robert Williamson
  •  Steve Williamson
  •  Andrew Wilson
  •  James Wilson
  •  Terence Wright

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph