Belfast Telegraph

Home News Politics

Candidates among first to the ballot box

By Noel McAdam

The candidates themselves were among the first to vote yesterday.

Traditional Unionist Voice leader Jim Allister voted in Kells at 7.30am, the DUP’s Diane Dodds in Banbridge voted two hours later and Conservative and Unionist Jim Nicholson voted in Armagh.

Sinn Fein’s Bairbre de Brun and the SDLP’s Alban Maginness were voting in Belfast, while the Alliance’s Ian Parsley went to Groomsport and Steven Agnew for the Green’s in North Down.

An Executive meeting was shifted to allow ministers to help get their parties votes out.

The fortnightly meeting — ministers have not yet succeeded in moving towards weekly sessions — has been postponed until next Thursday.

That will leave a three-week gap since the last session with only a further three meetings likely before the Executive takes its summer break.

And it remains unclear whether Regional Development Minister Conor Murphy’s proposal for another deferral of water charges will be on next week’s agenda.

Two meetings have taken place since he announced he was tabling a paper.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph