Belfast Telegraph

Home News Politics

Tory leadership race: Who are the five candidates? [Infographic]

David Cameron's successor as leader of the Conservative Party will be elected by party members with the result announced on September 9.

Five Conservative MPs have been confirmed as candidates.

Energy Minister Andrea Leadsom is odds-on to become Home Secretary Theresa May's rival in the Conservative leadership race, as MPs continue to declare their support.

Ms Leadsom is now the bookies' second favourite, overtaking last-minute addition Justice Secretary Michael Gove.

Mrs May continues to command the lion's share of support, remaining firm favourite to take over as Prime Minister from David Cameron.

Liam Fox has attracted the fewest backers, behind Stephen Crabb, whose support is steadily rising.

Here are the MPs whose allegiances have been verified by the Press Association:


Peter Aldous

Lucy Allan

Heidi Allen

Stuart Andrew

Caroline Ansell

Edward Argar

Harriett Baldwin

Richard Benyon

Sir Paul Beresford

Karen Bradley

Steve Brine

Robert Buckland

James Cartlidge

Therese Coffey

Damian Collins

Tracey Crouch

Byron Davies

Mims Davies

Caroline Dinenage

Tobia Ellwood

Michael Fallon

Mike Freer

Sir Roger Gale

Sir Edward Garnier

Mark Garnier

Nusrat Ghani

Chris Grayling (Proposer)

Justine Greening (Seconder)

Andrew Griffiths

Sam Gyimah

Matt Hancock

Oliver Heald

George Hollingbery

Kris Hopkins

John Howell

Ben Howlett

Jeremy Hunt

David Jones

Kwasi Kwarteng

Dr Phillip Lee

Brandon Lewis

David Mackintosh

Alan Mak

Patrick McLoughlin

Stephen Metcalfe

Maria Miller

David Mundell

Mike Penning

Claire Perry

Stephen Phillips

Chris Philp

Sir Eric Pickles

Mark Prisk

Mark Pritchard

Will Quince

Amber Rudd

David Rutley

Antoinette Sandbach

Alok Sharma

Alec Shelbrooke

Julian Smith

Sir Nicholas Soames

Anna Soubry

Mark Spencer

Caroline Spelman

Maggie Throup

Dr Sarah Wollaston

Craig Whittaker

Nadhim Zahawi


Adam Afriyie

Sir Henry Bellingham

Conor Burns

Nick Boles

Michael Fabricant

Nick Gibb

Andrea Jenkyns

Daniel Kawczynski

Nicky Morgan (Proposer)

Bob Neill

Dominic Raab (Seconder)

Jacob Rees-Mogg

Anne Marie Trevelyan

Ed Vaizey

Shailesh Vara

John Whittingdale


Maria Caulfield

Steve Double

Philip Dunne

Luke Hall

Simon Hoare

Sajid Javid (Proposer)

Johnny Mercer

David Morris

Mark Pawsey

Chloe Smith (Seconder)

Gary Streeter

Julian Sturdy

Craig Williams

Mike Wood


Steve Baker

John Baron

Julian Brazier

David Burrowes

Chris Heaton-Harris

Chris Green

Bernard Jenkin

Tim Loughton

Penny Mordaunt (Proposer)

Anne Marie Morris

James Morris

Owen Patterson

Tom Pursglove

Michael Tomlinson

Martin Vickers

William Wragg (Seconder)


Robert Goodwill (Proposer)

Scott Mann (Seconder)

David Nuttall

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph