Belfast Telegraph

Home News Politics

Watch Stormont live: Opposition to discuss RHI probe in 'meaningless day'

Proceedings begin at 10.30am on Tuesday Janaury 17

The Assembly's official Opposition are to debate a probe into the botched Renewable Heating Incentive scheme, during proceedings branded "meaningless" by Sinn Fein.

It comes after James Brokenshire called an election for March 2, just 10 months after the previous poll, after Sinn Fein pulled the plug on the Executive through Martin McGuinness's resignation.

Assembly business will continue on until Wednesday, January 25 and dissolve the following day.

On Tuesday's agenda, set by the UUP and SDLP, MLAs will discuss a public inquiry into the RHI as well as the "failure of the Executive".

Sinn Fein MLAs however, will not attend the chamber, although its ministers will continue to work right up until the election.

Gerry Kelly described the day's events as "meaningless" given the previous day's events and that their "heads were focused on an election".

Proceedings begin at 10.30am.


Parties set out their stall on tackling thugs, but Sinn Fein snubs opportunity

Rising tempers point towards nasty election tussle in Northern Ireland 

Jonathan Bell gets DUP's back up again with RHI fresh claims 

The soon-to-end Assembly opened officially on Thursday, May 12, 2016 - the fifth mandate since the Good Friday agreement and the most short-lived.

There are 38 DUP MLAs, 28 Sinn Fein members, 16 Ulster Unionists, 12 from the SDLP and eight Alliance among the 108 members as well as two Greens, two People Before Profit Alliance, one TUV member and one independent.

There are 29 new members for the previous term.

At the first session Arlene Foster and Martin McGuinness were re-appointed First and deputy First Ministers.

The DUP's Robin Newton was elected Speaker with Sinn Fein's Caitriona Ruane appointed Principal Deputy Speaker alongside Deputy Speakers Danny Kennedy (UUP) and Patsy McGlone (SDLP).

Ms Ruane and her Sinn Fein colleague Catherine Seeley have both indicated they will not seek re-election.

On the first day of the Assembly, UUP leader Mike Nesbitt announced his party would move into opposition.

The SDLP followed suit.

Following their moves the following were selected as ministers in the new Executive.

The Executive Office: First Minister Arlene Foster DUP, deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness SF

Minister for the the Economy - Simon Hamilton, DUP

Minister for Education - Peter Weir, DUP

Minister for Agriculture and the Environment - Michelle McIlveen, DUP

Minister for Communities - Paul Givan, DUP

Minister for Finance - Mairtin O Muilleoir, SF

Minister for Infrastructure - Chris Hazzard, SF

Minister for Health - Michelle O'Neill, SF

Minister of Justice - Claire Sugden - Independent

Junior Ministers - Alastair Ross DUP Megan Fearon SF

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph