Belfast Telegraph

'No' vote by three constituencies

Three of Ireland's 43 constituencies voted against Government plans to enshrine children's rights in the constitution.

Donegal South West, Donegal North East and Dublin North West were the only areas to reject the referendum.

While the No vote in the Dublin constituency was marginal - with only 137 votes of a difference - the northern county was more resolute in its rejection of the reforms.

Donegal South West recorded a 56% No vote, with Donegal North East even more resounding with a 60% rejection.

Voter turnout in the county was relatively low, at 24%.

Donegal has become renowned for its protest votes against past referendums.

Both constituencies in the county voted against the European fiscal treaty earlier this year.

The voter turnout at the end of May was 42% - the lowest in the country.

The two Donegal constituencies also rejected the Lisbon Treaty in both referendums in 2008 and 2009.

In the second vote, the county was only one in Ireland to vote No.


From Belfast Telegraph