Belfast Telegraph

Robinson on peace award shortlist

Former president Mary Robinson is on a shortlist drawn up for the 2010 Tipperary International Peace Award.

The ex-United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights joins Aung San Suu Kyi, the Burmese pro-democracy leader who was recently released from detention, on a final list of nominees for the prestigious annual honour.

Also in the running are chairman of the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission and United Nations Special Rapporteur Dr Sima Samar and the Taiwanese Buddhist nun Cheng Yen.

The head of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency in Gaza John Ging and the prime minister of Zimbabwe Morgan Tsvangirai have also made the shortlist.

The Tipperary Peace Convention Committee will consider the nominees over the coming weeks before the winner is announced on New Year's Day.

The Tipperary Peace Award was founded in 1984. It was set up to recognise people who promote the ideals of peace and peaceful co-operation in Ireland and across the world.

Previous recipients include Nelson Mandela, Bob Geldof, Bill Clinton and former Pakistan prime minister, the late Benazir Bhutto.

Last year's winners were the late Senator Ted Kennedy and his sister Jean Kennedy Smith, former US ambassador to Ireland.

The 2010 award will be presented at a special ceremony in Tipperary in the new year.


From Belfast Telegraph