Belfast Telegraph

Search for bridge name narrowed

The search for the name for Dublin's newest bridge over the Liffey has been narrowed to 10.

Dublin City Council revealed the heroes of literature, sport, politics and science who will battle for the privilege of commemorating the Marlborough Street Bridge.

"The 17 suggestions on our shortlist followed a very successful public consultation process," councillor Dermot Lacey said.

"It was a very high quality list with names and events which feature strongly in Irish history. The shortlist has generated huge interest and comment and I have no doubt this will continue until a final decision is made."

Mr Lacey chairs the council's commemorative naming committee which will meet again on July 10 to cut the shortlist to five.

The final 10 list includes the Abbey Theatre Bridge; firemen and founder of Alone Willie Bermingham; revolutionary James Connolly; poet and playwright WB Yeats; author Bram Stoker; Legion of Mary founder Frank Duff; trade unionist and Irish Citizen Army member Rosie Hackett; Dublin camogie player Kay Mills; George Sigerson, who the Sigerson Cup is named after; and Nobel laureate Ernest Walton.


From Belfast Telegraph